A Huge One

in #photography6 years ago

At about 84mm (3.3") in length, the blue emperor (Anax imperator), grote keizerlibel in Dutch, is the largest of the dragonflies in The Netherlands.

It is very territorial and difficult to approach, but I eventually got a good shot:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 240mm, ISO200, f7.1, 1/100s

I have made a montage to scale to show the difference in size with a common damselfly, the azure damselfly (Coenagrion puella), azuurwaterjuffer in Dutch:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 240mm, ISO200, f7.1, 1/100s

This is the female of the blue emperor, depositing eggs:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 265mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/200s

I had to walk into the water to get that shot, without having had the time to take my shoes off, but is was well worth it.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

that dragon fly looks awesome and the details are very clear. that is an excellent shot and it is awesome. great work

Beautiful blue!
I love dragonfly.

Wow it is really big. Thanks for updating your beautiful picture.

Wonderful dragonfly! That last shot is fantastic!

Thank you!

Nice! Love the last shot. I photographed a damselfly today which would have been between 20 - 25mm. Smallest one I've seen.

There are a few micro species, but they are very rare here. Never seen one myself.

Well done! Nice pictures!

Those shots are well-worth a sopping pair of sneakers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11