A Collection of Grasshoppers

in #photography6 years ago

There is a huge number of grasshopper species, and I must admit I can't tell most of them apart in the wild, or even from photos.

With some help, however, I have been able to identify these that I came across on my walks:

The short-winged conehead (Conocephalus dorsalis), gewoon spitskopje in Dutch, not seen often:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 200mm, ISO160, f8, 1/400s

The bog bush cricket (Metrioptera brachyptera), heidesabelsprinkhaan in Dutch:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO200, f8, 1/60s

The very common lesser marsh grasshopper (Chorthippus albomarginatus), kustsprinkhaan in Dutch:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 165mm, ISO320, f5.6, 1/320s

Also common: the meadow grasshopper (Chorthippus parallelus), krasser in Dutch:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO160, f5.6, 1/500s

The very big great green bush-cricket (Tettigonia viridissima), grote groene sabelsprinkhaan in Dutch:


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/800s

The rare large marsh grasshopper (Stethophyma grossum), moerassprinkhaan in Dutch:


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f6.3, 1/100s

And the last one for now: the common green grasshopper (Omocestus viridulus), wekkertje in Dutch:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 28mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/125s

Study them well; there will be a test on Monday.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Grasshoppers. Just enlarge and ride.

Golden Age of Insect Aviation: The Great Grasshoppers from Wayne Unten on Vimeo.

wow nice to your photography....lovely pic

Cool👍👍👍👍👍

Great shots! I love how much detail you can see on them!
Is this micro?

Oja, ik geloof dat jij Nederlands bent! :D
Mocht je het leuk vinden er is nu een Nederlandse groep actief op Discord chat. Ik zal de link hier even voor je posten mocht je het leuk vinden om meer nederlanders to ontmoeten!
https://discord.gg/MwXQTH

Seeing at the nice pictures of grasshoppers in the grass, I like the grasshopper's style , ok ,great post @ocrdu

They do blend in well with their surroundings.

I usually notice them when they jump, and sometimes even get a photo before they jump again. Not good models, these 8-).

Some really nice images/photos of this noisy creature. Especially like the last photograph. Grasshooper almost embracing or protecting the plant.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 3 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75