A Blue One

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Well, some of it is blue. This one is called blue hawker (Aeshna cyanea), even though most of it isn't blue, and the females don't have any blue at all. Its Dutch name is blauwe glazenmaker.

They are quite common here, but always impressive because of their size of up to 75mm (3"):


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/500s


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f4, 1/125s, flash


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/125s

You usually find them patrolling an area, and they are curious enough to check you out, but they rarely land, so they can be a bit of a problem to photograph.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Beautiful dragonfly

Wow!!! Amazing colors on that dragonfly! Life is so beautiful!

#photography
who took the picture, can i save it for me

The photos are mine, you can have a copy for personal and non-commercial use if you want.

WOW!!!
Nice macro!!!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Unusual... I haven't seen blue and yellow ones...

Simply stunning! I love the one with the berries!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84