An unexpected encounter

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I have posted before about spiders walking on water, but I never realised these big raft spiders (Dolomedes fimbriatus) could also do that. You might think I could have deduced it from the name, but the Dutch name (gerande oeverspin) is different and doesn't refer to this.

It's a big spider, at least for The Netherlands, with a body measuring up to 22 millimetres (0.87") and a leg span of about 70 mm (2.8"). I saw this one yesterday as I was sitting near a peat-bog pool looking at all the critter activity going on:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/125s

It also has way too many eyes, must be an alien. Several of my friends, having seen this photo, vowed never to swim in open water again.

Another, fairly recent, addition to the Big Spiders in the peat bog is this wasp spider (Argiope bruennichi):


Olympus XZ-1, 28mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/125s

To reduce the number of tourists even further: did I mention we also have vipers and hornets and many mosquitos and ticks in this peat-bog area called Aamsveen?

Sort:  

Amazing spiders. Just see the details of wasp spider web, as if sending an electomagnetic wave!!!

OMG: Like living in the jungle.

Dutch jungle, a whole new concept! 8-)

Incredible. What area were these photos taken in? Most people fear Australia for critters like this but to be honest I haven't seen anything quite that intimidating down in Aus. I do love the look of spiders though, one of the universe's beautiful creations.

These photos were taken In the east of The Netherlands, in a peat bog near the German border.

The raft spider is amazing. Would be rather nifty to use your dive skills to go under and take a photo looking up at the thing from below...foot dimples, air bubbles, et al. Nature is truly incredible indeed.

Too shallow! And my camera isn't waterproof. I could lure the spider to deeper waters first, but how does one lure a spider?

Make a noise like a distressed bug?

Like <splat> you mean?

Lol. That is full-on distress, as in windscreen fodder. For this project, I think more of a 'squeeg' is in order...

wasp+spider... I'm staying away.

Strike one tourist!

Stunningly )))))))))))
Resteem for Spiders ))))

What does Mrs. Sokoloffa think about that? 8-)

She likes cats more than spiders 😀😀😀😀

I love spiders, and Im scared of them. They creep me out and fascinate me. I allow the spiders to nest all over the house and I never have flies. They keep to their web and I keep away from them. We are a "happy family" (shudder)

I guess they are really small - at least the first one :)

Hardly noticeable 8-P.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.04 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56