Foaming at the bark

in #photography7 years ago

A good while ago, I noticed two trees with foam on them. It was raining, and that explains the water, but what makes them foam?

Oak:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO400, f4, 1/60s

Birch:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO400, f4, 1/50s

I know some insects can generate foam to protect themselves, like the meadow froghopper aka meadow spittlebug (Philaenus spumarius), schuimcicade in Dutch, but they don't usually live on trees and the foam looks different (also note the stumped ants):


Olympus XZ-1, 28mm, ISO100, f2.8, 1/320s

So, what makes a tree foam? Any ideas?

Sort:  

I have Sugar Maples that will do that from open wounds. Caused by birds and insects. The live juices below the bark have sugars/carbohydrates that make the sticky bubbles. Good observation on your part.

Air pollutants is my best guess, some trees will also do this to get rid of pests.

I have had the same thing happen on my Sugar Maple tree. Only saw it once and have no idea why.

I always thought they were some form of insect nest

I've seen this alot (great pictures my friend) and I think it's caused by insects.

It is happening all over the world! Must be a conspiracy 8-).

I knew it!!! Now I have to work it into my story (I'll bet it's part of Agenda 21)

Nice post bro ;)

I don't know but do a search for slime flux and see what you think.

Interesting, but I'm not sure it is what I saw. I actually saw the bubbles forming and coming out in the rain.

Over here we have plants that contain sapinin. (not sure of spelling) It's like soap. If you crush the leavws with water it froths up like soap. Maybe it's something like that. I think the resin in some trees can also do this. You'll have to make another post if you figure it out.

What a view! Never seen a tree foam! I would say, someone tried to clean the tree with Shampoo, but I suppose that is not the real situation :)

Unlikely, but I have seen stranger things 8-).

so strange effects! I've seen something similar before and everyttime I thought that is strange ^_^

Italy as well, then. Must be a global conspiracy 8-).

You have amazing photos. Looks very beautiful and fascinating. I think the first photograph is a colorful stone, it is foam so beautiful @ocrdu

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58