Gonepteryx Cleopatra 🦋 - The Origin Of the "Butterfly" Word

in #photography6 years ago

This morning I got to have some fun with a friend who invited me to an early morning ride to Bet Oren 😎

When I got back, this lil' fellow waited for me in my ho.e garden to complete this perfect morning 😃

image

A medium to large butterfly is common in North Africa, Southern Europe and the Middle East.

image

In Israel it is common throughout the Mediterranean region throughout the year and can be seen flying on warm winter days.

image

Its wingspan is about 60 mm.

image

Remind lemon yellow color with an orange stain decorates the center of the front wings and the female is painted cream and more.

The basil trees are the hosts of this butterfly larvae.

This butterfly also has a good camouflage - it can look like a leaf and sometimes one do not notice it's even there! 😎

The first researchers to describe the Gonepteryx Cleopatra were impressed by his color, and called it Butterfly - that is, flying butter. 😋

The name became accepted - and got its own interpretation, and today Butterfly is the word for the 🦋.

My lil' edit ❤️
image

Enjoy!

Canon PowerShot SX60 HS

Sort:  

It's beautiful!

Thank you darling 😄

What beautiful photos, what a special way to take photos. I love your job!!!

Tnx friend

What beautiful photographs. Beautiful butterfly I had not seen a butterfly of that color, green as the leaves of the trees.

Thank you dear 😄

These photographs are very beautiful...
I gave you one upvote.

Learned a little something too. Lovely shots

Glad to be of service 😋😄 and thank you 😊

What a cute little leaf with antennas. 😋

I like how the name butterfly sounds beautiful in most languages, but in German it's called "Schmetterling". "schmettern" means to dash something, so a Schmetterling should be someone how dashes something. (I think, however, the resemblance of the two words is purely historic.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79