Rhinos Roaming at a Florida Wild Preserve

in #photography5 years ago

The following images were taken at the Lion Safari animal preserve in Loxahatchee Florida. For this post I have included a few shots of rhinos that I came across along my journey across the park.

These animals were separated from the spectators by a good amount of space because they tend to get aggressive and can charge your vehicles. Luckily I had really nice telephoto lens which you can see in the last photo of this post.

I was surprised to see the little white birds following around the rhinos. Interestingly, each rhino had it's own bird. It may be my imagination, but it seemed like each bird would only follow around it's own particular rhino.

Some of these guys looked pretty rough, as if they have been in a lot of fights. The horns looked pretty worn out. My guess is that they have a lot of really old animals there. They are an endangered species, after all. We may be the last generation that gets to appreciate them before they are driven to extinction by poachers.

I hope you enjoyed these shots! Check back soon for more images from my Lion Safari adventure!

Sort:  

OMG, look at all these posts I've been missing! I always liked rhinos. Weird in a way, but seem to have inspired artists since Albrecht Dürer.

Don't want to spam your comments, so I won't add a picture without your permission... but I did a rhino once, which I think you would enjoy!

No, please do! Post away. I would love to see it, all of your stuff is great.

Yeah, I went a little crazy posting over the last few days. I would usually put everything from a trip in one monolithic post, but I think I lose money that way. Also I am realizing that my posts can get a little long for some people.

I'm trying to control my ADD. haha

ADD.hahaha.. don't we all have some of that?

I think its a good idea to make these smaller posts. You have plenty to show for a whole series.

Here is "The Horn" (German name for rhino is "Nashorn" (nosehorn))

dashorn(gerahmt).jpg

I made the copper frame too :-)

That is gorgeous! That frame is awesome, too. The whole thing looks like a shield.

Your paintings look like the contents of my dreams when I have been sleep deprived. So creative! I think I see a little eye on that tooth looking platform that they are riding.

Very good photo, friend. You are aiming very precisely. In my country there is one-horned rhinoceros that is protected in a national park. Maybe you want to travel to my country. Lots of animals here.

I think I would like to see your country! I haven't seen a one horned rhino before.

Fun fact.. What you are seeing here is a two horn Rhino, but you can only see a one horn Rhino in Assam, India!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh! I did not know that. Thanks for the info!

The second photographs looks like the cars are not shielded from those beasts, is that the case?

Yeah, man.. it's a little bit nerve wracking. I just kept telling myself that surely they would allow them to roam freely near the cars if they weren't safe. But deep down I knew that pissing them off could be the end of me!

rhinos.png

The horns, That looks scary.
And you are looking cool mr @nuthman .

Posted using Partiko Android

When I see Rhinos I think of the dinosaurs @nuthman because of their prominent horns. Mighty creatures that survived until now.

Oh yes @nuthman, beautiful photos in which I can clearly see all the details of the rhinos and you are right, it seems that each rhino has its own bird!

I really liked your pictures. It seems that the rhinos feel great :)

An excellent overview @nuthman and these rhinos are amazing creatures, not seemingly agile, but their horn is a very formidable weapon!

Hi, @nuthman!

You just got a 6.37% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63152.84
ETH 3104.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84