TONIGHT: Perseid meteor shower - Original Work

in #photography8 years ago

Don't forget that tonight is the start of the Perseid meteor shower. It will be the biggest show in the last few decades. Here are a couple pictures I took the last time I went out meteor hunting. Some nights I stayed up till 4am sitting beside 2 cameras with shutters wide open for hours. Laying there in awe at the starry night and awesome meteors.

45f7ae4.jpg
Click to enlarge.

Camera: Canon 40D, Lens: 10.0-22.0 mm @ 10mm, Shutter Speed: 95 sec, Aperture: f/4, ISO: 640



6010d9a3.jpg

Click to enlarge.

Camera: Canon DRebel, Lens: 18-55 mm @ 18mm, Shutter Speed: 124 sec, Aperture: f/3.5, ISO: 400



60abdf3.jpg

Click to enlarge.

Camera: Canon DRebel, Lens: 10-22 mm @ 10mm, Shutter Speed: 73 sec, Aperture: f/3.5, ISO: 400

http://www.space.com/32868-perseid-meteor-shower-guide.html
"This year, instead of seeing about 80 Perseids per hour, the rate could top 150 and even approach 200 meteors per hour," Cooke said. It's the first such outburst since 2009.

To see them, head an hour or more away from big city lights, and look North

Click here to and see more of my photography :)

Sort:  

Great photos! I will be outside working the graveyard shift, as a guard so I will definately be watching for it! Is there a BEST TIME!? Im on the west coast in British Columbia Canada. Thanks! 👆😉

Ideal time is around 2am-4am I think, but anything after 10pm should be ok. Happy meteor hunting!

Awesome thanks! 🌌⛼🌑🌠☄im watching for it as i type! Nice clear sky!

Yup, tomorrow night should also be good if weather is bad tonight!

going to follow you as I look forward to seeing more of your work

Gracias, I just did the same :)

Ohhh, I'll be awake but so far skies are cloudy. Great photos from last year. Thanks for the beautiful reminder!

Whats the weather like tomorrow? that's your 2nd chance!

Damn... Nice shots

Gorgeous. One of the first posts I've looked at on steemit, brilliant

Thank you, and welcome :)

Just wondering where do i get or how do i put one of those click here follow buttons on my posts?! I like it

Very very cool write-up. Inspired me to go take some shots of the event tonight myself! You've gained a new follower :)

Gracias. You should post a couple shots up from it, even if there weren't going fireballs ;)

Was a pretty amazing show! Love the shot you got with the cliffs and trees on each side, great work!

Thanks, I may post another shot I got later on, from a similar location. Was really cool to shoot at so late at night and all by myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83