📸 SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry - Teddy-bear cholla (jumping cactus) closeup - Original pictures from the Sonoran desert

in #photography6 years ago

On my first trip into the Arizona desert, I learned quite quickly about these little devils. They seem to jump and bury themselves onto you even though you SWEAR you never got close to them (which isn't true as they can't move, but even the lightest touch and they embed their quills deeply into you and all your clothing). its even harder to get them OFF of you, use one hand to pull them off your leg and boom, they are stuck twice as hard into that hand! I tried to kick one out of our path gently, but even my shoe was no match, and the spines went over an INCH into my soft shoe and into my toes!!!

As tough and evil as they are, their fine spines and fuzzy appearance definitely made them glow in the setting sun's golden light! Which is what grabbed my attention when walking through the Sonoran desert.

This first picture is what I am entering into the current steemit photo challenge, the rest are just to give people perspective and see the wider angle ;)

089.jpg

Camera: Canon 5DmkII
Lens: 70-200mm @160
Shutter Speed: 1/1250 secconds
Aperture: f/2.8
ISO: 200

This is a bigger view of the entire DANGERBUSH, inconspicuously waiting for the next person to walk near it! It drops some of its balls of pain, which blend into teh ground, and if your foot even brushes one, it will be lodged deeply into your foot.
094.jpg

Camera: Canon 5DmkII
Lens: 70-200mm @200
Shutter Speed: 1/1000 secconds
Aperture: f/2.8
ISO: 200

You can see how the blonde spines seem to glow in the setting sun's golden light.
092.jpg

Camera: Canon 5DmkII
Lens: 70-200mm @200
Shutter Speed: 1/1250 secconds
Aperture: f/9
ISO: 1000

So like I said, they seem to have this heavenly halo and glow about them, yet are little painful and sneaky little devils :p

be sure to check out my other photography on My Blog!

Sort:  

Wow! I always wanted to go into the Arizona desert, because of that different kinds of cactus and canyons. One day I really will go there! Nice photos by the way :).

Yeah, I thought it was be boring and just dirt, but nope! Just the drive from Phoenix to las vegas is 4 hours but in that time span we went from low desert, up into higher elevation, into the joshua tree region, back down to saguaro region etc, the scenery just kept changing and nothing was the same! I'll be posting more pictures from the desert so stay tuned!

Opps its really painful but pretty to😂😂

haha yup, here is the picture from wikipedia showing how they have backwards facing spikes, which make it hard to pull out easily:

Nice. What part of the AZ dessert did you take these in?

Just south of the superstition mountains which is east of phoenix

Sagat catik bunga nya bos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71219.01
ETH 3807.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50