SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry - Bahariya: Akabat Mountain (Sahara, Egypt) - Original Work

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

We loaded into a local bedouin's off-road vehicle and headed out on a 3 day journey through the Sahara Desert. As we left the only highway leading out, it only took us the first few meters before we were greeted by this scene. We exited the car and stood in awe of the beauty, the enormous sand colored domes, and pure white chalk formations seen down below. This was the most amazing trip I have ever been on: camping on mats under the stars without anyone around besides the 3 of us. No lights, sounds... no anything. Just the gentle wind and open skies.

98b94a6.jpg

Camera: Canon 40D
Lens: 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 @ 22mm
Shutter Speed: 1/800 sec
Aperture: f/4.5
ISO: 200

Click here to and see more of my photography :)

Sort:  

This looks truly amazing!

Thanks :)

Beautiful shot!

Thanks :) Just think how much more amazing it was to experience in person!

I can only imagine...

Holy shit!

Yeah it was an amazing place to visit (which is why I went twice). Too bad its so dangerous there now :/

Like Mars! The grand shot. Stunning views. Upvoted!

Appreciated :) yeah it was truly a grand entrance into the Sahara expedition we went on.

I believe someday I will look at this beauty with your own eyes.

I have been through most of Egypt 2 times in the last decade, if you ever have questions, just let me know. I have tour guides that I trust, etc. Though I would give it a few years until things settle there :(

Beautiful! I like how the light falls through the cloud patches.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55