SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry - Auroras under a starry night over rural North Dakota plains - Original Work

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Midnight, on a silent dirt road in the middle of nowhere, auroras were silently pulsating and dancing above the North Dakota plains.

It is said that up to 80 percent of US children growing up today will never see a starry sky. It is tragic to think about how light pollution from our modern world is covering up the most beautiful of natural phenomena. This long exposure picture was taken out in the quiet North Dakota plains where the Auroras can be seen lighting up the starry night sky on a regular basis.

868daa3.jpg
Click to enlarge.

Camera: Canon DRebel
Lens: 10-22mm @ 10mm
Shutter Speed: 330 secconds
Aperture: f/3.5
ISO: 100

Click here to and see more of my photography :)

Sort:  

This is beautiful!!

Thanks, it is awesome to see auroras in real life, the way they flow and dance around is very eerie :)

I'd love to see it in person one day!

10/10 for compositional skills - you hit it out of the ballpark there!! EXCELLENT WORK!

Nice shot!

Thanks! It was really cool scene to be in, I wanted to capture it just to share with others.

very nice pic. i like it

This is an absolutely fantastic piece of photography. I'd like to ask if I could use this picture as inspiration for a short fiction piece for #descriptionsonthespot. It really is beautiful image; thank you for capturing it and sharing it with us :)

Thanks :) And yes, so long as you give photo credit to me (link, or whatever) you have my permission to use it on steemit in a story.

Thank you! I'll credit you for the photo in the banner above the picture and the story with a link to your blog (@nords). Is that alright?

I'm still new here to know which is the better link, this post or my overall blog, so either one works IMO, If I can get my work out there in the world for more people to see and enjoy, the better :)

That 10mm lens... wish I had one. :D
Nice shot!

Thanks! Yeah the 10-22mm is only like $750, and is a great lens for a crop camera. I now use a FF 5dII and 17-40mm which is a similar, but red ringed version, and a tad better. I highly suggest you get a version of this lens, so great for landscape shots! I never use my 10-22 anymore, but don't really want to get rid of it :x

Once my Steemitmillions start rolling in, I'll def buy a better lens. Using my kit lens atm. :D

I started off with my kit 18-55 way back in 2005, it is a good starting point, you will soon find the style you like, and the lens you can afford that best does the job in that area :) Keep shooting and posting, I see you've got some great shots too! (upvoting them as well). Do your research before buying, and possibly buy a used lens if money is tight. My only lens regret is getting a POS tamrom zoom... I stuck to Canon lenses ever since, and have never been happier. Thought I HIGHLY suggest you look into whatever maker, but a nifty fifty lens as your next purchase... in Canon it is a $90 50mm 1.8. its cheap, but a great step up.

haha, I don't know why your post doesnt have a reply option, I think we have hit the reply tree limit :p anyways, I don't know anything about pentax as I am a canon guy :x but trust me, save up and buy a used landscape lens that is good, and you'll love it.

Yeah. My gear is already bought used. I have a (~280$)Pentax K-30 with Pentax DAL 18-55mm and (~80$)Pentax DA 50-200mm. I'd really like a lens for landscapes next.

Great shot !

Thanks man :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91