The Fruit Trees in my Yard #02: "Rukh Tamaters" or Tree Tomatoes

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

One of my favourites is the "Rukh Tamater", which translates to "Tree Tomatoes", and I have a few trees in my garden. As it is ripe for plucking now, I have taken some photos to put up here.

This fruit in many ways resembles the tomato, but has a thick outer skin, which takes a very sharp knife to cut through. The insides look exactly like the tomato, except it is more oval and "egg-shaped" and tastes different.

We make a chutney (salsa?) out of it and it is yummy!


All photos have been touched-up, scaled in size and taken with my mobile camera,
Samsung Galaxy S6 edge



Freshly plucked fruits



The fruits dangling on the tree



The inside of the fruit when cut up



Another shot of the tree with the fruits



You can right-click and open image in a new tab for a larger format.
All photos are free to use without attribution or copyrights.
(Though you may give me credit, if you wish!)



If you like my work, please up-vote and read more at @norbu.
You may also click the down-arrow next to my name (before my reputation score below) to follow me.
Or you may just re-steem to share the love! 😊


Sort:  

Nice harvest! I really like your pictures of the fruits, whole and cut open. These are not the tomatoes I'm used to growing in the northern US, but I can tell they are related. I was in Ecuador last year for work and the place I was staying served these for a dessert.

This would be a great post for the #gardening tag. Maybe it would even be best as the first tag. If you do add the Gardening tag, I would be happy to recommend this for SteemTrail curation. Thanks!

Thank you for the compliments! Yes these must be related to the tomato as visually it looks the same inside. I have only seen it in the mountains of the lower Himalayas around here. We normally refer to it as a vegetable and eat it cooked lightly into a chutney which has a tangy taste on the tongue.

I regret not having checked out the #gardening tag earlier. I am no gardener, but do grow stuff, but all with minimal maintenance and would love to know more. I have now added the tag and shall be checking it out regularly. I could not change the main tag but it shows up anyway.

And thank you again for your comment which has opened up another area of steemit for me.

You're welcome. I'm glad you included gardening in your tags and I'll look forward to seeing more of your growing.

Thanks for your tips, now I am onto #gardening! I even put up a new post!

Just a heads-up that we can only recommend an author for the SteemTrail curation once every day. You're a good gardener and are growing some interesting plants!

Wow, that's nice! Never seen a fruit like this before :D

Happy to have added to your knowledge in fruits :))

Tree Tomatoes !!!
first time I see it

I think you will find these in the hills only and found all around here. Thanks.

They look so delicious!!

They are! But you should be having it in Nepal too.

Well.. i don't know particularly about these :D

It's pretty common around here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80