The moonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

moon2.jpg

I have always wanted to be able to shoot the moon. In fact, love for photography has always had to do, in part, with being able to shoot the moon. When I started learning photography, the teacher put this usual question to the students: why are you here? And I said: I’m here because I want to be able to shoot the moon. I got some eyes on me and some amazement. He replied something like this: That is ambitious; the moon is one of the most difficult subjects to photograph. My colleagues shall still remember this episode, and might have labeled me as a “lunar person”. It’s understandable, though: a quite old lady learning photography and, at that age, she says she wants to shoot the moon? Yes, it’s true, and has to do with it, at least partially. The moon, a liar, a witch, the one you never know when and where she rises and sets (and I live in a place where I see the sun always just in his right place), which does not appear when I look for her, or does beautifully when I have nothing else "at hand" but my eyes. Like a couple of days ago, when she was almost full, in its full splendor, at six p.m. in a perfect blue sky! Yes, this moon. For these and other reasons, and perhaps because of the usual fear we have when faced with an almost life goal, the moon and I have been staggered, and I search for her (or run away from her, who knows), being afraid to fail in photographing her. Then I went to Balibo. To the Balibo Fort Hotel. And it was full moon. And I was in a wonderful atmosphere, with the persons I love most in this life. Even my dog Luna (Luna = Moon) was there. A perfect evening! And, thus! Here's my first decent photo of the moon, at least to my eyes. You guys will tell. Moon, I think you will not be ashamed of it. But you will tell, liar.

Photo: Full moon, East Timor, Timor-Leste

www.isabelnolasco.com

Sort:  

I have always wanted to shoot the moon too. I guess you beat me to it :-). Can I ask what camera and lens you used?

Keep trying, never give up! For this shot I used my Canon 5D MKIII and a Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM (with duplicator)
Here are the settings: ISO 400, 600mm, ƒ/11, 1/20 (with tripod). Be welcome to ask for more info anytime :)

Nice shot.
Following.
Have fun.
T

Thanks, have fun you too.
IN

Thanks x2 :)!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67282.50
ETH 2627.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68