The lurker under the leaves

in #photography7 years ago

skink head.jpg

If I didn't know better, I might think there was a snake in the garden but one big difference between snakes and lizards are that lizards have ears whereas snakes 'hear' vibrations through their jaws. Lizards also have eyelids whereas snakes do not.

This is an African striped skink and they are very common in my garden. If you feed them, they can become tame and rather fat. Unfortunately, my cats love hunting them and have reduced their numbers considerably and the skinks here are wary and wild. This little one let me take photographs though.

skink.jpg

This species of skink doesn't lay eggs but are able to give birth to live young.

Sort:  

Do these lizards also loose their tales?

Yes. Most often in my kitchen, thanks to my evil cats, who love torturing them

I'm always learning something new everyday from you @nikv!
Thanks for sharing!!

I am wondering how did you capture them? I mean they are so fast. I was trying to take shots once with my camera( I have no mean exactly this kind of lizards), but I didn't succeeded. They are just very , very fast. I suppose with patience and to know where to wait them.

You have to be very patient and move very slowly with lizards. This kind of lizard does become tame if you feed them so they are less scared than most

Yes. I agree, but if try to take pictures of them in nature I suppose it would be a little more difficult, because you can't feed them there, but may be if you know exactly how kind of lizards you want to take shots and search on internet or from some book for more information about them, then may be you would know on where places to wait them and when :) But this is only my guess. I am not sure if I am wrong :)

When photographing nature, I tend to frequent one area so that all the creatures there become used to my presence and I spend lots of time observing quietly. Then the animals show themselves and you can get pictures

That was interesting. Thank you :)

What a cute lizard!

Such a lovely lizard :) nice photos

I love lizards :D so beautiful

Cool photo!
Can i use it for may cartoon style artwork?

On my blog you can see some examples i did for fellow Steemians.

If you like

Yeah i think it will look cool.
I'll let you know when i made something worth posting.

look almost alike but so different.

Thats interesting in London we see that in the garden lol. Where abouts are you from?

South Africa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58656.89
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48