Photos: Kobun-tei Pavillion, Kairaku-en Park, Mito, Japan

in #photography7 years ago

Inspired by some recent posts on Steemit (Japan Photo Blog by kafkanarchy84, My Ryokan Experience by shinge3 etc.), I've decided to start posting some of my Japan-related photos. Most of these are already on my Flickr account (https://www.flickr.com/photos/nicholas_sikorski/) but I reckon that as Flickr now belongs to Yahoo, I'd be much better off sharing them here.

I took these photos when on a trip to the Kairaku-en 偕楽園 Park in Mito 水戸市, Ibaraki 茨城県 Prefecture. One of the three most famous gardens in Japan, the Kairaku-en was created in 1841 by Tokugawa Nariaki 徳川斉昭, a relative of the Shogun. Whilst the park is perhaps most famous for its plum trees and landscaped garden, I was most impressed by the Kobun-tei 好文亭 Pavillion (I visited in October, hardly the season for plum trees...), a two-storey traditional Japanese building erected in the grounds as a place for rest and parties. I studied Japanese architecture as a postgrad in London, so I guess I'm biased, but I did really like the rooms: all those polished floors, straw tatami 畳 mats, bamboo and Japanese paper shoji 障子 screens and painted fusuma 襖 sliding doors really do make the visit worthwhile.

Hope you like the photos: let me know what you think!

Sort:  

Beautiful photos, the composition is quite brilliant. You make great use of the symmetries in the architecture. Reminds me of Yasujiro Ozu's films :)

Thanks for the comment! I guess the fact I took some of the photos on my knees (not much light and I had no tripod) is maybe what makes you think of Ozu!

great photos and great place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68068.52
ETH 3873.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64