About the usage of images without giving credits to the authors

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Some days ago I got an unpleasant surprise, while I was working on a post for publishing it in my blog at steemit. I did a web search of one of photos that I took during my trip to Hong Kong, some years ago. I found that my photo was used by different web sites, including newspapers and different bloggers, without giving credits to me (the author).

Some years ago I published this image in different photo contest pages, which are not longer active. In those web sites, it was specified very clearly that the photos were copyright by the author and it could not be reproduced without permission of the author.

This is the photo, in this opportunity I signed it with my steemit signature.



The usual way to prove ownership of a digital photo is having the original file that comes out of the camera. Obviously I have this file. In the world of analog photography the owner of the negative is the owner/author of the image.

Here I show a different edition of the original file in order to proof that I am the author of the photo.



Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nenio from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60898.61
ETH 2626.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61