Travel Reportage: Uckermark - A Paradise Near Berlin

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

021.jpg

While Everyone Goes to Berlin to Party, Nobody Comes Here to Relax.


For my photography-studies I traveled across the Uckermark for two weeks, attempting to create an appropriate photographic portrait of my homeland, which before - honestly - never had concerned me much. But upon closer examinination, I found it to be much more beautiful and interesting than I was aware of.


044 (2).jpg

058.jpg

026.jpg

8 Towns, 72 Nature Reserves


About 80km north-east of Berlin begins the Uckermark Region. It's Germanys least populated and it was also it's largest until recently. While it struggles with the typical problems every province has, like unemployment and poor infrastructure, it certainly has the advantages aswell. I was surprised to find lakes which look completely untouched. Wide areas of pristine nature where you won't meet anyone. Upon reading, I learned that there are 72 nature reserves here - but only 8 towns that are large enough to not count as a village.


002.jpg

059.jpg

Little Job Opportunities and Culture


I met Felix, who is working at an organic farm near a small town called Templin. He is one of the very few young people who chose to come here long-term. The majority of the younger people I know, didn't want to stay because the region doesn't offer much in terms of job opportunities and culture. At least as long as you're not into agri-culture.

022.jpg

025.jpg

029 (2).jpg

Pristine Lakes and Lots of Water


Travelling across the region, I realized how many streams, lakes, rivers - how much water here actually is. Some really seem as if they're completely untouched. At a more popular lake, which was in the morning-time not frequented at all, other than for her and her friends, I met a girl who was enjoying the tranquility of the scenery and going for a swim. I also met a very friendly local who was trying his luck fishing at 6 am.

055.jpg

54 (2).jpg

053 (2).jpg

009.jpg

013.jpg

038.jpg

Medieval Buildings and GDR Nostalgia


Exploring some of the towns, I found a GDR-Enthusiastic pensioner (more than one actually), medieval Gothic styled buildings, small shops that, at first glance, didn't look as if business is going too well, but turned out to be well-frequented by locals. Also I met some younger people who didn't make it out of here, nor being able to deal with the limited possibilities locally, thus seeking refuge in computer games and drugs.

051 (2).jpg

049 (2).jpg

046.jpg

040.jpg

042.jpg

Wild Wolves settling here


I met a ranger training his dog in an area which is partially restricted due to remains of ammunition and bombs from the time the russians occupied this area after World War II. He told me that he rarely meets anyone here, but when he does, it's strange people. The other day I was visiting one of the wildlife reserves of the Uckermark, learning that wild wolves have been spotted incresingly over the last few years, and it's been speculated that they're not only crossing but settling here, which really surpsrised me.

050 (2).jpg

037.jpg

034.jpg

Waving Goodbye to Weekend Tourists


Near the motorway which leads to Berlin, I found a lot of different Tourists parking their cars on the side of the road to take photos of a blooming poppy field, which was indeed an attraction. Not many come here, but those who come usually like it. After two weeks traveling across the Uckermark, I liked a bit better, made a lot new friends, learned interesting facts and also spent too much on film - as usual.


Thanks for watching, hope you enjoyed it.


If you learned something new and enjoyed reading and looking through it, please upvote this post. I spent about 400 $ on film and travel costs to do this reportage. While I'm not dependant on support, every upvote will make it easier for me to do future projects.
Donations in crypto are also appreciated!

BTC: 16Jh7w8Wgi19Wyv5FXEwr5BYsP9RBRCZHK

ETH: 0x7DDdb395606fa1CEC2e79E09C7e9B959Fe48b605

LTC: LYQhfpd4iNfpKpo6jrnr5ZiiZ2593qfZ1D


About me: Tino Zimmermann, 27 years old, Steemian since November '17.

furz.jpg

Currently studying Photojournalism in Hanover, Germany. (Where the Lumix Festival happens)

Please don't hesitate to ask questions about Photography, share your thoughts and critizism. I'll try my best to respond to any comment.


Sort:  

Congratulations @naughtysketches! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58047.91
ETH 2348.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37