Up Close - Praying Mantis - Original Photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Praying Mantis have got to be one of my favorite insects.  They just look so cool, an other worldly. I was inspired by @papa-pepper and his "up close to the creatures" series he does. So while I am always on the look out for new things to photograph, I will never forget the day I found this praying mantis in our driveway. This photo set is from a few years ago in the fall of 2012.  This very large Praying Mantis was about to become a play toy for our cats, but I quickly scooped him/her up and took the opportunity to snap a few shots of this beauty before placing it into a nearby bush.



I hope you have enjoyed this photo set.  And as always, your upvote is greatly appreciated.  Follow me for more, similar posts about life in Kentucky.

Sort:  

Awesome photographs! That Mantis looks like a princess!

Thanks @onetree, it was so fun to take pictures of. Maybe a warrior princess!!

Definitely, and beautiful!

@nathanjones nim
The mantis picture seems to be a law of attraction from a kung fu movie.
You took a really nice picture.
I really admire the photo.
Especially the mantis which is taken down on the floor is elastic.
I am going to see it well.

Thanks so much @sochul, I know exactly what you mean. They are very fun to photograph.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14