Hello Steemit community.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

All I can say right now is that, I am very thankful to have my account back. For a while there my password did not work, or I didn't type it properly. Either way, very happy to be back.

I have a small story to tell.
I'm not going to hype it up because its very -day in the life of a photographer-.

To set the scene: I am traveling through BC Canada, and have to board a ferry to cross some big lake. My friend and I are packed full of camping and photo gear in a 2007 toyota yaris. I was still really excited to be using film, perticularly 4x5 transparency. At about midway through the ferry ride we encountered a bushman, then proceeded to interact an coax him into having a photo of himself made.
Honestly there's no back story to Jim Donnelly, I made a picture of him and promised to deliver him a print. Proceeded to gather his mailing address, and had a smoke with the guy. Just after that smoke we ended parting our ways because the ferry was ready to offload.
My buddy and I continued on our adventure towards northern Washington. There were many memorable experiences on the way there and on the way back.

Our adventure is not what this story is about.

At the time all I had was very small Post-It notes, not the regular size, about 1/4 the size. This is where I made notes for each shot, so Jim's address made its way on to a very small blue Post-It.
Lets fast forward about 6 months from the time the photo was made....

Photo was made on June 11/ 2011

Its now December 11/ 2011
I have the very small blue Post-It note stuck on my desktop PC, and a pile of film to get developed.

I get the Film processed before the end of the year. Marvel at the beauty of 4x5 transparency, and then pick quality exposures.
Both exposures I made of Jim were great, but one was slightly better with his expression.

Insert time warp here.

Now being that this very small blue Post-It note was stuck to my desktop PC for a long time, it was deemed a back burner priority. I believe that very small blue Post-It note was stuck there for about 2 years. Ending up moving my office in spring of 2014. Lost the very small blue Post-it note in the process.

2 years went by before I found the very small blue Post-It note. The very small blue Post-It note was nowhere important, not even anywhere exciting, it was mashed between papers I was about to throw away.

So now its about January 11/ 2017, and I send a letter to the address on the very small blue Post-it. Here is what i received on February 15/ 2017

Hello Nathanael,

My name is Terry Mayfield I'm Jim Donnelly's niece.
Sorry to say Jim passed away April 2nd 2016.
Jim was a fun guy who loved life,
he is sadly missed by his family
and friends.
I would love it if you could pass his picture on to me. Also if you can share the story that goes with the
picture.

Thank You,
Terry Maxfield.

When I read this hand written letter, I was grateful that I received a reply, and also sad that Jim could not see the photo for himself. I also had a felling like he didn't really care because he knows what he looks like, so life goes on in his mind.
What is really important is that Terry can see Jim once again.

July 31/2017 --Currently I have the prints in hand, and will be sending the photos to Terry.

final-2.jpg

Sort:  

RIP. That is a well lived face.

Welcome to Steem @natej I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit Natej! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me ...

Welcome to Steemit @natej, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Kool story!

Welcome natej, I hope you enjoy it here! This is a great place for a multitude of reasons; I’m sure you’ll find out plenty of your own.

I am going to follow you and ask that in return your follow me. But take note, this type of following is almost a moot point. After all, wouldn’t you rather be following people with similar interests? OR following people whom are like minded?

Just my two cents, but welcome all the same. At my site, @carltong; I have blogs on scams, easy to use faucets, and more. I don’t link to any of these in this letter, because I want to genuinely welcome you to Steemit. It’s that great an invention, lol.

Here is my best advice for you:

”If it seems to good to be true, then it’s NOT true.”

I lost over $1000 at BitcoinsBrain, and almost got taken by FexFund; I was given this advice once; “be nice to everyone and don’t trust anyone”.

Whatever the case, WELCOME HERE. Say hi once in a while and I’ll try to do the same.

Enjoy,
@carltong

Welcome to steemit.
I gave you a follow and an upvote :)
Feel free to follow back.

Jim looks like a cool guy. Glad you mailed the photo.

hello~ natej, Follow & Upvote is a You and I great strength~

Hi @natej welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @Fshllc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57666.58
ETH 3076.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28