Waterfall Wednesday - Sol Duc Falls In Olympic National Park

in #photography6 years ago

Falls in the Rainforest

Hello everyone! It's been a couple days, I've been fighting a nasty sickness for the past week and I'm finally starting to feel better so I'm back in action!

For this Waterfall Wednesday, I'm sharing one of my favorite waterfalls here in Washington, Sol Duc Falls. It's special to me in a lot of ways, mostly because when I first moved away from home I came to the Sol Duc area to work in the National Park and spent a lot of time on the trails around here. You can't hike in this area without passing by Sol Duc falls first so every time I come here, it brings back so many good memories.

Sol Duc falls is a gorgeous waterfall that has three main chutes if you will and on this particular day, the falls pumping. You walk over a bridge that gives you an up-close view of the falls and when it's flowing like this, it's a very wet affair. Anyways, on to the photos!

Enjoy and Happy Wednesday!

IMG_0982-2.jpg

IMG_0974.jpg

Sort:  

What a beautiful photograps of the waterfall, it looks really dangerous but also very powerful and beautiful x thanks for sharing x

Thank you so much! It’s actually not dangerous at all, as long as you don’t get too close. I was using an ultra wide lens so I look much closer than I was :)

This is fantastic, mate! That first image is just perfect

Thank you so much mate! I look at the first one and it makes me regret selling my ultra wide so much hahaha

Being from Eastern Washington which is very dry, it seems very cool to me that there is a rain forest on the West side. I went backpacking in that park once in high school. I have some great memories from that.

Ha! I have the opposite feelings, it’s crazy to me that the eastern side of Washington is so dry and arid compared to over here. I’m a huge fan of central Washington as you get the best of both worlds

Definitely on my list of places to visit. And hope you feel better! Seems it's going around. We have it too

Ah thank you! Yeah, it seems to be going around. I don’t know how I caught it though as I’ve been busy at my home office for the past two weeks with minimal outside contact

WARNING: That first picture is almost too pretty. Resteemed ;)

Phew, my heart skipped a beat when I saw “warning” but thank you so much!! I really appreciate all of the support you’ve been giving me :)

Deep forest with powerful waters!

Great post and awesome shots!!

Great photo. I love the moody atmosphere here. Completely different to my sunny shot :-)

Hi Nate! Was hoping to direct message you this weekend - where's a good place to contact you? Are you on Discord? :)

Hey man! I'm on discord, username is @natee

Cool, thanks! Just shot you a message. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77