Purple Splendour

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

"I have no hesitation in saying that each one of us is as intimately attached to the soil of this beautiful country as are the famous jacaranda trees of Pretoria and the mimosa trees of the bushveld." - Nelson Mandela


I live in Pretoria, South Africa. Also known as the Jacaranda City for its estimated 70 000 Jacaranda trees growing all over our fair city.

Once a year, from September to November, the city is covered in a magical purple brilliance.

With warm weather and spring in the air. Driving around our neighbourhood is a feast of colour and sensations.

On the flip-side, they are messy trees, the decomposing flowers smell awful and are a slippery hazard for vehicles on the road. Driving with my kids at the moment it like water torture with them shouting ‘Purple tree! Purple tree! Purple tree! Purple tree!’ all the way to the shops and back. (they both love purple!)

Jacaranda trees are not indigenous to South Africa and are considered invader trees. It’s believed that the first Jacaranda trees were brought to Pretoria by a resident from Brazil in 1829. But…. If you want to see Pretorians up in arms, just mention a slight chance of a thought that the trees should be removed. Just not something that will happen – EVER. We love the purple splendour!

Jacarandas come in red, yellow and the sterile white Jacaranda of which we have about 100 trees all in one street.

Image credit


Our fair city in full bloom
Image Credit


Image credit


Our sexy puple city
Image credit

What makes your city beautiful? Please tell me and share your photos.


If you enjoy my articles please follow me on my blog at @naomi.louise

Sort:  

What beautiful pictures and good story.

Thank you very much for the compliment @lmar.

Upvoted and resteemed :)

Thank you so much mr @jacor. Much appreciated.

Hello @naomi.lousie you get my upvote because I am also from South Africa! It's nice to see a local on here! The Jacarandas are beautiful, we get them here in Durban too but not so abundantly. Will be following your posts and would love it if you returned the favor?

Hi @sweetpea and welcome to Steemit. I checked out your posts, liked it and will certainly follow. Steem on!

The Jacaranda also brightens late spring here in Australia too. I heard they where brought to South Africa from here in the late 1800's. I understand the Jacaranda originally comes from South America.
We call then exam trees or study trees as they flower in time to remind the uni students to start studying for their finals.

Hi @stephen-somers. We have it that they came from Brazil, but honestly, I'm just glad we have them and that I get to see them. Our students believe that if you study for your final exam and a Jacaranda flower falls on your shoulder, that you’ll pass your finals. (Not that there will be any studying this year - but that’s a whole other ugly post altogether)

Amazing pictures! Just so wooow :)

I guess we really need to be there at the right time to see it (a bit like the cherry blossom period in Japan).

Yes @lemouth, pictures can't do it justice. I've always wanted to see the cherry blossoms in Washington.

Lovely Pics and love the view looking over the town with the purple trees, thanks for sharing! :-)

Beautiful Photos, Thank You, Spent My Primary School Days in Pta . Went to Sunnyside Primary where the first 2 Jacaranda trees in Pretoria were planted.

WOW! Where are you now @awgbibb?

Wow this is incredible @naomi.louise! Thank you for sharing. I love your question at the end. I am currently planted in Lancaster, PA. Its beauty is its grit, its history, and the beautiful trees that create an awning for the streets. Thank you.

Only a pleasure @brookeloving. Please share photos if you have. In the meantime, I'll Google Lancaster.

Incredible... I had no idea. I like knowing this exists!

Glad to share @macksby. I love our purple city.

I've seen the Jacaranda trees all over Queensland, Australia. You feel like you've hit a purple patch when you see em' all - I love em'!

You lucky fish! Is there a country you haven't been to?

I've never been to Antarctica ;)

Bwhahaha! Something to aspire to then.

I think I'll leave that continent untouched. Many say that is the best policy for this frozen land ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67120.19
ETH 3459.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72