The Feels (Revisiting My Alma Mater)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hi there #steemians and to #steemit community!

I happened to visit my Alma mater when I had my vacation in the Philippines sometime in October 2017. What I felt is pure awesomeness because I would have never imagined that I could pass the UPCAT (UP College Admission Test) when I was a graduating High School student then.

When I was studying in UP, I never expected that I could graduate in time (I took a 4-Year Course) because it was difficult for me to adjust in such a high pressure environment where professors will not spoon feed the knowledge that they have. I remembered waking up early just to go to the library so I can have more time to look for the books which the professor recommended to read.

Anyway without further ado, here's the shot of University of the Philippines in the Visayas (Miag-ao, Iloilo Campus) Administrative Building where the Registrar's Office is located:
20171013_133720_HDR.jpg

The photo is also focused to that naked guy standing alone. It is called "The Oblation" or Oblasyon in Tagalog/Filipino language. The deeper tagalog/filipino word for it is called "Pahinungod"
20171013_133659_HDR.jpg
A portrait shot of "The Oblation".

20171013_133636_HDR.jpg
A side view of The Oblation. The sculpture is the handwork of Philippine famous National Artist Guillermo E. Tolentino

20171013_133600_HDR.jpg
A back view of the sculpture.

Just another trivia : "The Oblation serves as the iconic symbol of the University of the Philippines. It depicts a man facing upward with arms outstretched, symbolizing selfless offering of oneself to his country." source

Camera used : LG G4 (HDR AUTO Activated)

====================================
Have you voted your witness?
Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @precise, @acidyo, @jerrybanfield, @blocktrades, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

=====================================

Much love, God bless!

Your UPVOTE|RESTEEM|FOLLOW, will always be my source of motivation and inspiration.

Sort:  

Iskolar! Yabang! hahaha kidding though. You and those who put their minds and heart tin chasing their dreams have my respect.

nyeeh...hahaha.. actually wala lang talaga money parents ko to send me to a private school so i needed to work my butt out and burn every bits of my kilay para makapasa. im just an average student lang din or maybe a below average compared to some. :)

thanks anyway for the respect. cheers!

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen for the SteemPH UAE : Daily Featured Posts | 02 May 2018.

i will never get tired to say thank you to @steemph.uae and #steemph family!

more power to all of you... soon enough i promise to help lift up our family. :)

much love, God bless!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57485.95
ETH 2901.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67