Hurricane Harvey

in #photography7 years ago

I know I am here in Idaho, but most of my friends and family are in Southeast Texas. I grew up just east of Houston and have been through many hurricanes. So many, I don't even remember most of them. I remember the big ones that did a lot of damage. Hurricane Elisha, Rita and Ike are the three biggest I have ever been through.

I had the fire here 2 years ago that lasted for nearly 3 weeks. I have told people here I would gladly do a hurricane every year than to go thru another wildfire around my place. This Hurricane Harvey, however, is a different beast. It is so unpredictable, they have no idea where it is going. Most reports I have heard from family and friends is that it is going into Rockport, stalling out, then going back into the gulf to regain strength and hit again between Rockport and Houston.

The truth is nobody knows where it is going. This was a picture a friend of mine sent to me of a news report. It is not a joke and has been confirmed by another life long friend in the Houston area. They truly have no idea what is going on or what to do here.

The photo is funny but the situation is not.

21078297_10212498531770685_2531616724134733435_n.jpg

I pray for everybody in Harvey's path. I pray for protection and wisdom, and a fast recovery. Bless you all.

Sort:  

I hope everybody stays safe !

Me too. I live in Idaho, but most of my friends and family are in the Houston/Beaumont area. I was born and raised in Baytown, and I am seeing the streets I grew up driving getting flooded. It is heart breaking. Most of my friends and family there are inches away from water coming into the house.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45