myday #79 - I went to the Goldfields!

in #photography7 years ago

Hello Steemians!


When you arrive in the Goldfields region in Western Australia there's a few sites you have to visit. First off, outside of Kalgoorlie is a little town called Coolgardie with a population of about 1000. Typically you'll find the regulars in the pub or RSL. I loved the architecture of this building and it made for a perfect black and white shot.

image

Canon 1D MK III - 17mm - f8 - 1/125 - ISO 160

Moving into Kalgoorlie the first thing you will notice is the MASSIVE Super Pit, an open cut gold mine. Just take a look at this shot I took. At the top of the photo you can see one of the big mining trucks and then compare that to the vehicle at the bottom left - it gives you an idea of the size of this hole in the ground!

image

Canon 1D MK III - 40mm - f9 - 1/200 - ISO 100

I hope you enjoyed seeing these photos. If you did please think about upvoting and resteeming as it support me to keep doing what I do.

I wanted to let you know about the new Steem Photo Awards I'm hosting. There are so many talented photographers here on steemit and through these awards I hope to highlight some of their talents.

If you are a photographer or know someone who is interested in photography, tell them to enter. This month's theme is portraits. Click the image below to find out more.

Steem Photo Awards.jpg


LeighandGrace002.jpg

Follow @myday

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens.


Sort:  

Yay for Kalgoorlie! What a place :)! I didn't venture into Coolgardie, but some people I worked with lived there. Boulder though is also nice little place! Those underground haul trucks are monsters, they consume 185 litres of fuel in an hour!!!

Wow! That's an impressive amount of fuel! I never knew that. I went to Boulder a couple of times too. Going to have to share some of those photos next month :) Cheers for your comment :)

I know right that costs around $5000 its mental! Looking forwards to the photos :)!

Jezus Christ, that's a lot of dirt they have moved :) Nice story mate.

Yeah it is! It's the world's biggest open cut gold mine - you can see it from space!

Interesting place and great pictures! Good job!

Thank you @stima :)

Excellent photo of the Massive Super Pit! It's impressive!

Thank you for commenting @evgsk :) Glad you

You can see this from space? wow. I've been to a similar mine in america as a kid. It was mind boggling not only how big the mine pit was but the trucks they used. Thanks for posting!

Yeah those trucks are huge! Thanks for commenting :)

WOW the size of that pit wow incredible

Certainly is! Thanks for commenting @tattoodjay

Amazing image of the open cut gold mine Leigh. Had no idea it was this huge. The texture in your imagery is fantastic. Becomes abstract.

Thank you @allyinspirit. I wanted to reflect the harshness of the environment and contrast was one of the techniques I used to help portray this. I appreciate you commenting :)

Always a pleasure Leigh. I would love to be able to visit Kalgoorlie and see it for myself. 'You never know' is becoming like a mantra for me.

I really admire the professionalism of your 'Steem Photo Awards' ~ Portraits is not really my forte, but I'll watch out for next month's subject.

Thank you very much for your kind words @allyinspirit! I live by those words 'You never know'. I'm an optimistic person who always thinks the best things for the world. So you never know what's going to happen tomorrow, but I do know it will be a great day :)

such stunning perspective on the first image

I appreciate your comment @victorbz. Thanks for taking the time to view my blog :)

my pleasure !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55