myday #77 - Exploring sand dunes in Western Australia

in #photography7 years ago

Hello Steemians!


On my way to the Pinnacles, north of Perth - the most isolated capital city in the world, I came across a massive set of sand dunes.

As I had plenty of time to kill, I decided to leave the car on foot to go and explore the dunes with my camera.

The light was patchy in one direction due to an approaching storm whereas the opposite direction there was nothing but blue skies.

image

Fujifilm X-Pro1 - 35mm - 1/1100 - f8 - ISO 200

I found a small plant growing in the dunes which led to an interesting foreground subject. Getting low to the ground also helped portray the small plant against the massive dunes.

image

Fujifilm X-Pro1 - 35mm - 1/3800 - f1.6 - ISO 200

Looking up from the scene I noticed the rising sun in the opposite direction. The golden light on the dunes formed some interesting contrast. It certainly made for some great shots!

image

Fujifilm X-Pro1 - 35mm - 1/550 - f8 - ISO 200

image

Fujifilm X-Pro1 - 35mm - 1/640 - f16 - ISO 200

As the dark clouds rolled in I turned to the blue sky to frame a couple of abstract images.

image

Fujifilm X-Pro1 - 35mm - 1/450 - f9 - ISO 200

image

Fujifilm X-Pro1 - 35mm - 1/400 - f8 - ISO 200

image

Fujifilm X-Pro1 - 35mm - 1/350 - f16 - ISO 200

I hope you enjoyed seeing these photos. If you did please remember to upvote.

I wanted to let you know about the new Steem Photo Awards I'm hosting. There are so many talented photographers here on steemit and through these awards I hope to highlight some of their talents.

If you are a photographer or know someone who is interested in photography, tell them to enter. This month's theme is portraits. Click the image below to find out more.

Steem Photo Awards.jpg


LeighandGrace002.jpg

Follow @myday

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens.


Sort:  

wuaooo que lindo desierto, hermoso pais australia! @myday vote please

Wooow.. Interesting photography, amazing, good job.
thanks for sharing!!!!

I'm delighted to find that you like this! Thanks for commenting :)

Fantastic photography. Way beyond anything i could do:) If only there was a traveling challenge going on right now .... hint hint :)

Hey @goldmatters thanks for commenting. I saw your challenge that you posted.... I think that was what you were referring to? I didn't see Australia on the list though :( maybe next time. Appreciate you stopping by!

It is!! Well a famous place like the Opera house or the Harbor bridge with the sign would CERTAINLY qualify for a chance at the bonus as detailed in the orginal post ;)

Ah okay! I'll see what I can do. Can't promise anything but it will certainly be on my mind I if I go to the city this week.

This post has received a 4.33 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @myday.

Really cool. I heard, there is giant sand worms. :)

Huh, I never knew.

Beautiful shots 👏🏼
Followed for more @myday

Greetings @ddot

Thanks @ddot. I appreciate you following me.

Great series and nothing much to add :) Except for that lonely plant. That is some determination :)

Haha it certainly is. Those roots must go really far down! Cheers for leaving a comment

The sky in the background is definitely getting ready for some storms it looks very stunning against the sand dunes and deserted background!

Thanks @margojensen! I always appreciate your comments :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81