myday #74 - I went to Port Fairy

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!


image

Fujifilm X-Pro1 - 200mm - f8 - 1/2400 - ISO 200


Port Fairy is one of those places in the world that you only hear about when you are at the local pub and someone tells you about "a place you 'just' have to go and see".

I was told from a local that if I wanted to photograph wildlife then I should definitely go to Port Fairy and photograph the Australasian Gannets (Morus serrator).

Now I don't know much about birds, but the local told me that it was the only colony nesting on the mainland. Everywhere else they laid their eggs on islands off the coast of Australia.

So, I set out and drove to the small town located in Victoria with a few cameras and lenses.

image

Fujifilm X-E1 - 116mm - f6.4 - 1/600 - ISO 400

The light wasn't that great, but some of the beaches along the way offered postcard views. I wasn't really equipped to take photos of the ocean, I was mainly here for the birds, so I didn't stay long at all.

image

Fujifilm X-A1 - 16mm - f7.1 - 1/350 - ISO 200

After getting lost a few times, I finally made it to the colony of birds. The majority of birds were nesting high on the cliff top so I thought it would be a good opportunity to photograph some contrasty images from below. The goal was to capture the birds returning to their nests with objects in their beaks.

Here are my top three photos from the shoot:

image

Fujifilm X-A1 - 105mm - f8 - 1/4000 - ISO 200

image

Fujifilm X-A1 - 78mm - f10 - 1/4000 - ISO 200

image

Fujifilm X-A1 - 64mm - f13 - 1/4000 - ISO 200

The final image I captured was from the top of the cliffs. It'a my artist impression of the birds. Hope you like it :)

image

Fujifilm X-Pro1 - 200mm - f8 - 1/2400 - ISO 200

[Want to win a share of 100 SBD in Prizes?](https://steemit.com/steemphotoawards/@myday/introducing-steem-photo-awards-100-sbd-in-prizes-201778t231323746z)

I wanted to let you know about the new Steem Photo Awards I'm hosting. There are so many talented photographers here on steemit and through these awards I hope to highlight some of their talents.

If you are a photographer or know someone who is interested in photography, tell them to enter. This month's theme is portraits. Click the image below to find out more.

Steem Photo Awards.jpg


LeighandGrace002.jpg

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens.

Follow @myday


Sort:  

upvoted and follow ...... if you like check my travel photos here https://steemit.com/travel/@bllackwidow/mytrip-belgium-awesome-part-2 ......... lets help each other as newbies cause those who make money usually dont care anymore

Thanks for upvoting and following @bllackwidow!

That bird, those colors= perfection!

fotos de mucha calidad!

Thank you

wow man the first and last one, just wow

Thank you for your comment @mrwanderlust. I went for something a little bit different with that image

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by myday from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I'm so jealous of your fujifilm!! :) great shots though, especially the one you shot with the 200

Haha yeah they are good cameras @donniedeluxe! Thank you for your kind words :)

This post has received a 1.45 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @myday.

Nice captures!

The Australasian Gannet is beautiful, seems to have a wingspan that lasts forever! Definitely love the last photo!

That's a great way to describe their wingspan. As always thanks for commenting.

Hehe thank you :)!

You missed your calling! You should be a writer!

Haha awww you're too kind!!!

I'm not sure about that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39