myday #55 - Getting close to a beautiful horse

in #photography7 years ago

Hello Steemians!


I was in Albany, Western Australia and ventured into a rural cafe to get some coffee after a photography session. Next to the cafe they had some farm animals and this horse really wanted some attention! I just love the colour of the horse, which made me pull out my camera and take a photo.

Have you ever photographed a horse before? I personally find photographing these animals difficult due to the long shape of their faces. I always question myself about whether or not I should shoot in a vertical or horizontal orientation and what parts of the horse I should include.

In the end I decided to use a shallow depth of field to really focus on the eye. Fortunately the horse didn't move around to much and I was able to get this shot.

Horse Looking At Camera 002.jpg

Canon EOS 1D MK III with EF85mm f1.2 - 1/2000 - f1.2 - ISO 50


I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through @steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore @myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of @myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens.

LeighandGrace002.jpg

All photographs appearing in this post were captured by me.



I wanted to let you know about the new Steeem Photo Awards I'm putting together. There are so many talented photographers here on steemit and through these awards I hope to highlight some of their talents. If you are a photographer or know someone who is interested in photography, tell them to enter. I'm giving away 100 SBD in total!

Steem Photo Awards.jpg


Introducing Steem Photo Awards - 100 SBD in Prizes!

Sort:  

I like the focus on his/her eye! And yes that color is amazing.. that one strand of hair in the eye though..bothers me. Lol That's being nitpicky though, great quality and great shot! I like this better than I think a vertical shot would look

Thanks for sharing the adventure with us @myday

No problem @apappel! Thanks for commenting :) :)

What an amazing adventure! Thank you so much @myday

What a nice shot 😋
I've never really been around horses that much in my life so I don't have much experience shooting them. I did however run into some wild ones grazing on the rocky hillside in Orebić, Croatia. It was a lovely sight but also quite sad. There were so many flies feeding on the underside of their legs 😢
horse.jpg

Thanks for commenting and yes that is sad :(

Horses are such an entchanting creatures.

Yes they are;

Nice picture, upvoted. You had the same idea as I did with this shot..

https://steemit.com/monochromemonday/@markangeltrueman/the-icelandic-horse

Thanks for upvoting. I will check out your post

Love the ginger :D

That's what I thought when I saw this beautiful horse!

Your composition turned out quite good! Love the shallow DOF too 😁👍🏻
I posted some horse pics a few days ago with my son... Of you have time, check them out and let me know what you think 😁

Thank you @cheeto.blue! I'll certainly check out your

Such a beautiful animal, I think you captured the horse very well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63802.69
ETH 3413.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55