myday #52 - Photographing the Carnaby Cockatoo

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit Followers!


Whenever I'm driving to Geraldton from Perth in Western Australia, I always have my camera and lens on my lap. You just never know when you might see a beautiful flock of Carnaby's Black Cockatoos.

image

Spotting these birds while driving is the easy part. The had part is actually getting close enough to take a decent shot! These birds can be elusive in the wild so the best method I have found to get close includes using a long lens while being visible the whole time.

For these two photos I pulled the car over on the side of the road and slowly walked as close as I could get. I crouched down and took a few photos. The presence of me being there for two minutes was enough to spook the birds, fortunately though I was able to track one of the birds that flew off. The resulting photo was what I was after - a shallow depth of field with a bush background at sunrise.

image

My future hope is to photograph these birds close up while they feed. I have a few places in mind to set up and wait, so I guess time will tell if I can manage to get the shots. Until then I encourage you to enter the Steem Photo Awards :)

LeighandGrace002.jpg

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through @steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore @myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of @myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens.



Have you entered the Steem Photo Awards yet?

Steem Photo Awards.jpg


Introducing Steem Photo Awards - 100 SBD in Prizes!



Sort:  

Surreal shot! loving those colors in the first one

Thanks @chrissymchavez! Thanks for commenting

You are becoming a "bird-shooter" pro (with the camera) @myday ! :D
Maybe when you get one close enough, I might attempt to do something like this:
My Sketches: Stretching Rusty Hands After 7 years

Wow! Your drawing skills are through the roof! Excellent work. I'll have to try and capture a close up! Thanks for sharing :)

Oh no no... I am far from that LOL. I probably will need to practice more. Thank you for the kind encouragement!

Excellent capture my friend! You made "myday" :)

Noisy buggers they are! XD

did you want "elusive" rather than "allusive" or was it alluding to something else? ;D

Those shots are great. I do love that top one where they're sitting around with those bright spots looking like giant glowing eyes!

Ah thanks for picking that up! I've updated it. Glad you like the photos @ryivhnn

awesome pictures @myday . waiting for the next. i really enjoyed it.
upvoted yo.

Thanks for stopping by @fatema

Really nice photos @myday : )

nice shots!

Cheers @sulev! Thanks for commenting

Beautiful photos!! :)

Cheers @klarkamatej! Thanks for commenting

The first shot is stunning, man! 👌

Thanks irreverent-dan!

Spectacular photos @myday. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Awesome! Thanks @photo-trail! I always appreciate your support :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50