myday #47 - The Osprey Has Landed!

in #photography7 years ago

Hello Steemit Followers!


I got there before the sun had risen. The morning was cold, still and dark. I had left my home in a zombie state when the alarm had sounded. Preparation was the key. Driving five hours to catch a glimpse of a bird was my hope.

I knew where the nest was and I had envisioned an image of the Osprey silhouetted against the saturated light. My enthusiasm grew as the miles to my destination became shorter. By now a dim light was beginning to glow in the distance. I had to get there.

My car chugged through the low cloud on the road as the heater blew relief to my thawing hands. Looking out constantly at the coast I could make out the familiar trees I had seen so often. I was close.

Pulling up, my car came to a stand still. The interior light flickered as it illuminated my camera bag, highlighting the necessities of the shoot. My trusty digital SLR, telephoto lens and monopod became an extension of my arm as the door closed behind me.

Rushing to the location I sat down on the freezing sand and became motionless. The steam from my mouth the only possible giveaway. The hunter was now becoming the hunted.

I prefocused on the nest and zoomed in to where I thought the wingspan would end. The shutter speed was turned to 1/2000 of a second to ensure motion would be captured as sharp as possible. I matched my shutter speed with the appropriate aperture and I waited.

By now the sun was tickling the horizon with an ever-warming glow. This was the perfect window of opportunity that was to extend to a mere fifteen minutes, no more, no less. After that the golden light was going to be lost in the intensity of the day.

The wait wasn't long before I spotted what I was after. My heart began to race. Could this be the moment?

Was this really happening?

My eyes didn't deceive me. For a few seconds later the Osprey decided to land. Talons stretched out as an outburst of wings pumped precisely to slow the bird down. The action was breathtaking.

image


Canon EOS 1D MK III at 443mm - 1/2000 - f8 - ISO 400



My timing couldn't have been more perfect. I had captured what I was after and I couldn't be more happy with the result. Nature put on a show and I felt lucky to have witnessed it.


Are you a photographer or a traveller like me?
Use #myday to share your posts and let's see where this goes!

LeighandGrace002.jpg

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through @steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore @myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of @myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens.


Recommended Reading






Sort:  

very nice article

Thank you @mahaelsayed. I'm glad you liked it

man that picture looks like a painting

Thanks @mrwanderlust! It certainly does

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by myday from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Nice :) upvoted and followed.

Why don't you check my last story about photos?
https://steemit.com/photography/@notonlyfood/photo-of-the-day-anthonydavis I hope you will leave a vote

Great shot. Isn't it great when hard work pays off?

Thanks @tim-beck! It certainly is. Makes me want to keep photographing every day!

Great shot!!👍🏼👍🏼🦅

Nice article sir... how long are you writing post on steemit sir?

Thank you @djmalith. I have been on @steemit for under three weeks. I'm loving it here. It's such a great community

good stuff man!

Fantastic shot @myday, and good story with it. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91