A Little Vacay to Hawaii

in #photography7 years ago

My grandma travels a lot and every so often she takes me with her. We were going to go to Hawaii last April for my birthday but I backed out because I didn't want to miss classes. The trip was pretty much for gotten about and we swept the idea under the carpet. fast forwarding to November, my grandma asked me what I thought about going to Hawaii again. I finally got on board with it and the plans were made. Two weeks later I was in (somewhat) paradise, relaxing and trying not to think about how I did on my college finals...

Now you might be thinking "why 'somewhat' paradise?" Well, my friend, it rained a lot while we were there. My first time in Hawaii and I didn't even have to get in the ocean to get wet.


Although the rain kind of sucked (especially because it was snowing back home which rarely happens) the trip itself was not ruined at all.
The first day we were there we weren't really sure what to do because we couldn't just go lay on the beach. It was finally decided that we were going to go whale watching. The idea seemed kind of boring, ya know, going and sitting on a boat for an hour looking for a flipper or dorsal fin.
Once we got out there, though, it was amazing. Seeing the big fellers in person was breathtaking and really gave me some hope for the rest of the vacation.

And the view from the boat was amazing, we could see like 4 of the islands.

This cool banyan tree was near the boating dock.

The person who took this photo of us asked us to then take a photo of him and his girlfriend. He handed me the camera and said "take a few please". I'm standing there clicking the button and all of sudden he reaches in his pocket and gets down on one knee asking her to marry him.
Ya... wasn't expecting that...

The next morning wasnt too bad outside and we headed toward the road to Hana.


We made stops every so often


I regret not taking the motion sickness pill that my grandma offered to me about 5 times before we left. We got about halfway through the route and turned around because I could not handle the turns any longer!

We got back to a random beach where I took a snooze and ate some Cheetos. The water was beautiful and the weather was wonderful.

We got back to the beach near our hotel and read there for awhile. By this point it had rained about 5 times on and off during the trip. It started raining again but unlike everyone else who was running for cover, my grandma and I were the insane people who continued to read while the pages were slowly becoming pulp. After about five minutes, we realized this wasn't going to pass and ran inside.

Our last day in Hawaii arrived and it was a really nice day. Our luau was that night and we were just hoping that it wasn't going to down pore like it had been. We went snorkeling and a turtle swam right under my feet which scared the crap out of me because I thought it was a shark. It was my first time ever snorkeling and I think it was pretty successful.

The rain didn't come back the 20 more hours that we spent in Hawaii which made for a great experience at the luau and the first sunset my grandma and I got to enjoy on our vacation.

But hey, what better way to end a Hawaiian vacation with anything other than a great sunset and some hula dancers?

Till next time, folks

Sort:  

Steem is beautiful @mukuluh because of steemers like you. Excellent High Quality content. Upvoted and follow .
In the beginning you might not see many rewards for your posts (unless you already brought followers with you)because no one knows how awesome you are, yet. Clever titles may help a little, but there's a better way.
The best way to get noticed is to check out other steemers' posts and comment. Also, comment on interesting engaging comments because you get paid for commenting, Upvote high quality posts because that brings value to the community and you get paid for that too! When you give value to others you receive rewards, recognition/following and a knowledge.

Welcome to Steemit @mukuluh !
I'm happy you've joined our creative steemian community
and I hope this Quick Start Guide will help you:
https://www.steemithelp.net/
tumblr_mnwh9iiuDl1qc4uvwo1_400.gif

damnnnnn! awesome pics

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58088.10
ETH 2353.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44