Images ? Sure ? Whats the biggy ?

in #photography8 years ago

As I am browsing steemit and the image site http://steemimg.com

I recognise a high amount of picture with small children in it. Ok, it wasn't like hundreds of them, but it was high enough to make me recognise it. I'd like to remind everyone that this is not Facebook. You cannot set the visibility of your content to certain friends. 

I am sure most of the people think its fine - "they are just holiday pictures", "you are creepy talking about this", "whats the matter with you, that aren't pictures from a beach/pool/bla", "there is no law to prevent me from taking picture of (MY) children in the first place", " this is complete overreaction", "oh boy, another idealist and the usual lose of sense of reality", ...

Well, maybe. I don't even have children. I cannot relate to the feeling of pride, how parents want to share their children's success or good memories - or how they want to protect their family. 

But have you considered that they might not want it? As a normal guy, looking at the educational system that under 10 year old experience I am almost certain to say there is no way that they understand the privacy concerns of any of this. 

I would like to avoid an unnecessary discussion as this topic is as old as Santa Claus. All I want to say is:

Think twice before you upload a picture of children on these type of websites.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56677.48
ETH 2329.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36