April showers bring May flowers

in #photography7 years ago

Hi Steemers!

I've been doing a lot of reading up on Steemit and trying to understand all the ins and outs. Best time to post, how to get new followers, and just an overall what is steem/ bitcoins. There's a lot to learn. If you know of any posts that have some easy to comprehend instructions on Steemit and could share with me I'd so appreciate it!
May_Griffith Park_2017-137.jpg

Today I want to share I shoot with I did with one of my favorite models, May (@may.daniels) with make up by Gladys (@_gladys_glam). We got this story published in the publication 'The Atlas Magazine' at the end of May. I've been really pushing myself to submit my images to publications. In the beginning I was really annoyed by it, oh who am I kidding I still am.

May_Griffith Park_2017-546.jpg

The rules are that you submit to a publication and then have to wait 1-2 weeks to hear back. If you don't hear anything you can assume that they do not want to publish your series. Sure ok fine, it's not the rejection that annoys me, it's the waiting. I hate sitting on a shoot for weeks and weeks at a time. Sometimes it can literally take months because you're waiting 1-2 weeks before you can submit again and that time adds up fast. Then you get the rest of your team being like 'hey, so where are the photos....' and you're just like 'ugh! I know you want them, I want to post them too...but just wait pleaseeee'

But...now it's been a few months and I'm getting used to the whole process and am just following the rules now and waiting.

For this shoot May and I were originally planning on going to Joshua Tree, smoking some weed, and getting creative. Unfortunately, I think we both were like mmmm it's so far...why don't we stay more local. That was also before May moved down to LA and she didn't have much time left. So we ended up smoking weed and going to Griffith park :)
May_Griffith Park_2017-114.jpg

May_Griffith Park_2017-450.jpg

May_Griffith Park_2017-80.jpg

May_Griffith Park_2017-121.jpg

I love working with May because she's so good at posing and moving her body. She's like dancing every time we shoot and she's not afraid to give me weird poses either. She's down for whatever and often thinks up poses that haven't even crossed my mind (I love collaborating with people so much, when both of your talents/ideas come together and make something awesome it's like my most favorite thing ever).

I was inspired to do this shoot from some photos I saw recently of Solange Knowles. She would be a dream to work with (someday maybe!) Her style is so original and so good, I just wish I could sit in her brain for a few hours and soak up some of that creativity! She shared a photo of her with an orange dress and pastel purple eye shadow and when I saw those colors together I knew I had to use them also.

Gladys was so awesome and came and did May's make up last minute which was great, since the shoot wouldn't have been the same without the make up. May_Griffith Park_2017-450.jpg

Whenever May and I shoot together we also revolve the shoot around eating. So before we started we stopped at Whole Foods for some salad and then by the middle of the shoot we were at this cute cafe inside Griffith Park eating cookies and drinking coffee...we need our snacks!

I love shooting with May and am doing another shoot with her this Monday, the studio shoot that I mentioned in my previous post.

I hope you enjoy these photos! Oh! Also, I'd love to know if there are any specific types of posts you'd like to see from me? Any videos on how I edit, behind the scenes of shoots, anything about styling, or if you're happy with these photo posts!

Thanks loves!

May_Griffith Park_2017-246.jpg

May_Griffith Park_2017-150.jpg

Sort:  

Great photos as always. Best tip I can give you for your account is by clicking on the profile face it will drop down a settings menu. Throw a url up of an Instagram selfie or your logo. The top bar is handy explore all its functions.

Thanks for the tip! I went ahead and added a photo + my link. Thanks!

Great shots @mterrisphoto, as always! This is going to be so low key awesome for both of us to see secret, unknown work of the others! :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51