You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Winners Announced! Steem Photo Awards - July 2017

in #photography7 years ago

Hey @myday! Thanks so much for the contest and making me third place, I am honored.
As to your critique, I want to add two points: 1) Yes, a vertical crop of the right monk would have been the more "perfect" and "conventional" shot. I totally agree. 2) However, I like the person in the center becasue while the two monks in front appear to be "sure" and strict about what they think, the one in the back looks at them in a kind of doubting way. To me, that is what makes the picture more than a normal portrait, it makes it a statement about religion.
And that is not my work, I was just really lucky, just pointed the camera and shot. So, I agree, it is imperfect, but the imperfection makes it a more "speaking" picture in my taste. And again, I dont wanna blow my own trumpet, everyone with a digicam could have done it.
Anyways, I really like that you take your time and say something about the pictures, this way we can have a productive dialogue! Thank you!

Sort:  

@mrwanderlust, thanks for entering the Steem Photo Awards and again congratulations. It always is hard judging photos and I agree it can be hard to capture the moment and control it when it happens in the blink of an eye. It's a great capture. Keep up the great work and feel free to enter this months theme..

Congrats on 3rd place!!! Well deserved :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52