ISS passing in front of the moon

in #photography7 years ago

So, after capturing a fairly good image of the ISS the other day, I decided to challenge myself and capture it passing in front of the moon! :-)

These lunar transits don't happen very often, and they're over in fractions of a second, but with video capture you can usually capture quite a few frames of the event.

Unfortunately I'd expected the ISS to be brighter than it was and I'd underexposed the moon a little too much which is why the compression artefacts are quite noticeable .

Sort:  

I've got footage of a daytime pass to post too!

Sensational.
I've watched the ISS fly over countless times but not once have I seen it near the moon.
What awesome timing you had, capturing such a rare event.
Thank you for sharing.

Wow @movievertigo, do you use one 1.000 mm lens? :D

It's equivalent to 2000mm :)

Crazy how fast it is traveling! Brilliant shot. Looking forward to more :)

27600 km/h :)

Crazy! It's hard to understand how that is possible. With the absence of atmosphere I suppose it doesn't feel like that speed?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99