TAKING STREET PORTRAITS

cover.jpg

Many of us struggle taking photographs of strangers and even those street photographers backed with years of experience, still get shaken up once in a while when he realizes he is about to approach a stranger and snap a photo of them.

I, too, struggle and missed a lot of shots because I got scared.

So what about street portraits? How do you do it? Let's talk about.
~For the purpose of this article, I'll only be covering street portraits where the stranger, aka, the subject is asked to be photographed by the photographer and not the candid form of street portraits that is a more traditional way of street photography.~

Ask Now, Worry Later

17429562085_29f43cea55_o.jpg

I got shooed away, hah!

Most of us, if not all, hates being rejected. Especially in street photography, getting a sharp stare, a solid NO! or a wave shooing you away isn't the best feeling. But, I hate to break it to you but, this is what you signed up for. This is what we all signed up for and in the world of street photography, being rejected is all part of it.

The truth is, at least based on my experience, the percentage of getting rejected is so small versus people actually acknowledging you after asking if you could make a portrait of them. And that's why I don't worry at all. I probably got rejected less than 10 times but that's over 5 years of shooting street photography and asking for permission. And nothing bad has happened to me. In fact, the worst thing you can get from asking is a NO! So just ask away and worry later. when you let your fear take over before you could ask, you'll miss the most important part of street photography- having that photo taken.

Find Your Subject

20850342280_7147d4e0d9_o.jpg

I mean, who wouldn't?

One way, clue or technique, whatever you wanna call it, is I find my subject. I look for people that dress too noticeable. As if asking you already to take a photo. Why? People dressed in such a way they literally catch your eyes loves attention. It's like peacocking in a sense.

It's also easier to strike a conversation with these people because you can easily spot something to complement in the way they dress. In my photo example, obviously, it's his pins and buttons.

So how did I asked him? I just smiled, said "nice pins!" He smiled, I raised my camera and asked if I can photograph him. He smiled and fixed himself ready.

25207691123_654c5c7c28_o.jpg

A man with his big giant white cat.

40963422725_2efd001457_o.jpg

A man with his cute little brown dog.

Here's another example of what subject you can probably ask for a photograph. People with their pets. People who walk with their pets out in public knows that at some point strangers will approach them to try and pet their dogs or cats, and it's a great exercise for us street photographers to take advantage of that opening.

Read The Body Language

27935582365_c5cd3d4ccb_o.jpg

She's a photography themed cafe owner from Japan who gladly shared us photographs taken by her husband.

When a stranger sees you with a camera, they already know you are there to photograph. The moment you make your presence felt, observe first. How do they react with your camera around your neck? Look for signs of them being comfortable while you are in close proximity. Are they stiff and gives a negative vibe? Or are they relaxed and welcoming? If the latter, the chance of taking their portraits are higher. They know you're gonna take their photo anyways and you can already tell they're at ease with you. And if they got to say no, they'll likely to do it politely. And you should politely accept that too.

In my photo example, I struck a conversation first, ordered 2 hot cocos for me and my wife. We talked for a little more until I raised my camera my camera and then I noticed her posture started to change. As if projecting to my camera. That moment I knew, without even asking, that she allowed me to photograph her.

Always Smile

28234686308_1717c113bf_o.jpg

This guy dressed all white grabbed my attention so I walked to him and with a smile, asked if I could take his picture. He smiled back and I proceeded to snap a few shots.

People who smile are appreciated more and likely to get positive reactions. So when you ask, always smile and project a bright mood. No one will gladly give you what you want when you show a bad attitude.

I've also read somewhere that a person who smiles to another usually gets smiles in return, and people who ask politely usually gets the favor done.

Never Ask Them To Pose

24498752764_8dc562f4f1_o.jpg

One of my favorite portraits that I took. This one's from Bromo, Indonesia.

Three final point before I let you off the hook. I make it a rule that If I'm going to ask to take someone's portrait, I won't ask them to pose or be directed by me. I'll ask if I could photograph them and let them do whatever they want. The last thing I want to photograph is them with a fake facade that I dictated them to be. Second, take as much photo as you can, taking even the in-between moments, without taking too much of your subject's time. And lastly, always thank them for giving you their time.

So there you have it, try it and let me know how it went! See you on the streets!

29524776293_a96f60a600_o.jpg

Ciao!


Hit upvote and follow me if you enjoyed what you've read!
Follow me for more street photography
and photography related contents. Cheers everybody!
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@mostvulnerable
Website: https://www.themostvulnerable.com/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/themostvulnerable/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/alliesatlarge/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/dmostvulnerable

Sort:  

great article

Thanks bro! Glad you liked it!

Amazing portraits, love the expression in the faces!

very interesting read
a few years ago i did this kind of the personal project and asked absolutely strangers for a portrait and was surprised as well how many ppl said YES and loved the result.
and additional effect that a conversations we started after the one minute session was much longer - 30-60 minutes with the long stories of their life.
Conclusion - everyone need an attention
personally i love the portraits with an attitude much more that random candid images taken with zoom lens :-)
some of my wonderful strangers are here at my photoblog site -
http://www.victorbezrukov.com/folio/portraits/

thank you for the interesting theme

Yes! it's amazing how many people are fine having their portrait taken in contrast to what we expect!
And let me just say, Wow what a beautiful project you made! 100 portraits! That's amazing! Love the images to!

Thank you very much !
as you said - very important is to not care about our ego :-)
if one say NO it's not about something personally about us.
and i really understand these ppl who say NO - mostly ppl with cameras at streets not too good with a portraits so as a photographer mostly i don't like that everyone take my portrait :-)))

Great article. Something I've never really been game to try because I never wanted to intrude. Silly thing really, but I'd never even thought of asking.

That's fine, too! But you'd be surprised how eager they can be when asked.

I think I would be. (Because I hate being photographed). But you've inspired me to try, because you've clearly had plenty of yes's!! Thanks!

I'm really glad I read this post
with step by step examples showing you what to do.

Just to be clear, I'm not a real photographer,
but I hope one day I might be one.

Respect @MostVulnerable !
Keep doing what you're doing bro !

Thank you so much! Really glad you liked it and I do hope it does help you when you start taking photographs yourself. Happy you saw my article!

Really interesting article - I have just joined Steemit and have been looking around for content on street photography (my favoured type of pictures) - pleased to have discovered you.

I am certainly a take the picture first, rather than asking - you lose the moment otherwise and as long as you smile and are open, I have never had much of a problem.

Great set of pictures - I actually really like the "shooed away" image!

Hey! Thank you so much and welcome to steemit! There are plenty of good imagea here you just have to have a little patience finding the good ones but it's all worth it. By the way you can try the app Steepshot. It works like Instagram but linked to steemit.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-17T13:45:48
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 555.52/800.00
Total Photos: 75
Total comments: 53
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57645.95
ETH 2389.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43