The missing and the damned

in #photography6 years ago

I fiddle, piddle, hobby and work in a variety of disciplines.

I studied photography and journalism in the military and developed a liking for both. Which was good, since I did it for nearly 10 years. I've never posted a collection of my photographs. All the photos I took while in the Air Force between 1982 and 1991, for which I had copies, or negatives, all burned up in a house fire in 1994.

I still have my old 35 mm Minolta -- not true! -- my daughter has it. After missing almost all the '90's because I was working the vampire shift in a wheel factory, I bought a Sony Alpha SLR and fell in love with photography all over again. (My daughter has that camera, too. I'm starting to pick up on a trend here.) With memory cards as inexpensive as they're ever likely to get, and digital storage the same, digital SLR is the only way to go. So I was going.

But, alas, somewhere between swapping houses, dead computers, portable drives out on loan and ex-wives with a Manson complex, I lost my digital library. I keep asking myself how such a thing could happen, and the answer is: I let it happen by not taking care of it. (It's called personal responsibility.) So, there goes another decade of photography, lost to me and to the world.

Meanwhile, since 2013, I've snapped a few that might be worthy of display. You can call them snapshots, pics, pictures, photos, photographs or works of art. It's all in the eye of the beholder. Here are a few.

As Above So Below.JPG
As above, so below. Macon, France, 2014.

Barb Wire 2.JPG

Barbed Wire. Arkansas, 2014.

BugEdit1.jpg

Stink Bug in the Berries. Arkansas, 2014.

Dogwood Flower.JPG

Dogwood Flower. Arkansas, 2014.

Lizard Close Up.JPG

Mountain Lizard. Arkansas, 2013.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mordekai38! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67644.39
ETH 3483.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65