Kötturinn's Dutch baby pancake - Vegan version!!

in #photography6 years ago

Super tasty and simple Dutch baby pancake.

@kotturinn posted this recipe last week and the second that I saw this I knew that I would be making it. Kött's photography skills may have had something to do with that (if you haven't seen her work I highly recommend checking her out).

I wanted to Veganize it the second I saw it, this lead me to thinking about my egg replacement. I decided to go with Vegan egg from follow your heart. I used this as I have found that although you can get the same bonding properties from flax, chia, and other seed "eggs" that you dont get the fluffiness that you would expect from a hen egg. Banana was also out of the question, I didn't want to alter the taste of the pancake and banana, although delicious (in-fact I am eating one as I am doing this post) I thought the flavour might just taint the pancake. I use a banana as an egg replacement when making my own thick American style high protein pancakes all the time and it is a perfect substitute.

Back to the Dutch pancake! I wanted to make a big enough one for the whole family so I used a 12" pan, I doubled Kötturinn's original recipe also. I think that this made the pancake thicker than I was expecting but was so tasty that I really didn't care. I think if I was to make this in a 6" pan with half the recipe and actually waited for the oven to be at full temp I would achieve the same curled up edges that Kott was able to achieve. The crispy edges are like crack! I mean it, I was tempted to eat the remaining slice that was awaiting my eldest son as he was out when the rest of us had the delight that is this pancake!

Served here with Fresh sliced strawberries, Icing sugar, Agave syrup and Alpro salted caramel icecream

Ingredients:

  • 4 "Vegan egg" eggs;
  • 1 Plain cup flour;
  • 1 cup Hemp milk (I make my own at home);
  • 3 tablespoons sugar;
  • a pinch of salt;
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract;
  • 1 teaspoon cooking oil or Vegan butter;
  • 1/2 teaspoon black salt (Kala namak) Optional for extra eggy taste.

For serving:

  • confectioner's sugar;
  • fresh strawberries;
  • Agave syrup;
  • Ice cream of your choice.

Directions:

  1. Place all of the ingredients except for cooking oil in a mixing bowl and whisk into a smooth mixture. Make sure there are no lumps in the batter. You can also combine the ingredients in a blender for a silkier texture. Set aside.
  2. You can either use a cast iron skillet or any other type of oven proof dish to bake this Dutch baby. Preheat your oven to 420 F, heat up cooking oil or butter in the center of your dish and pour the batter in. Bake for 30 - 40 minutes or until the edges turn golden brown. This is double the original cook time, I also didn't let the oven get too full temp.
  3. Serve this beauty warm with your favourite choice of fresh berries, maple syrup, agave nectar and/or nuts. I had some Strawberries that I used to garnishing, Agave nectar for gloss and some confectioner's sugar.

So that's all for now folks, hit that follow button for helpful tools, Vegan recipes and thoughts, average poetry, comedy and random musings. This is a glimpse inside the mind of a moonunit.

Oh one last thing, I have set up my witness node over on whaleshares. This node ads to the numbers currently supporting the whaleshares blockchain. Without witness nodes there would be no whaleshares to post on or make money off. Witnesses count on your votes so if you could spare a vote for me I would really appreciate it. You can vote for my witness here https://whaleshares.io/~witnesses I am in the list but you can also go to the bottom of the page and type in moonunit and click "share". You can read my witness post HERE!

Made by - @moonunit

If you are interested in our vegan curation please use the #thatveganwhale and follow @that-vegan-whale.

Sort:  

It looks very tasty)

Thanks for checking it out. It was so tasty, I wish I had some more to eat now!

You got a 5.22% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @moonunit!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65