Cancun Grafitti Wall ArtsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Well since the Steemit Hard Fork I can only hope for the best. I am no techie and the lack of communication to the community is disconcerting. Today was a hard day emotionaly for me and I really didn't want to do anything. One of those days when you wish to scream "DO OVER" with your life.

A friend called me over and I made a choice to at least be active and go visit him. He lives near a place calles "Plaza Las Americas" near downtown Cancun, Mexico. A few blocks away is a large water that used to be surrounded by a white cinder block wall at it's base. Sometimes there would be anouncements painted all around and on that wall.

Aguakan.jpg

When I got near the wall I noticed something unique so I took some snapshots with my dinky LG phone of what I encountered there.

Maya1.jpg!

What is unique about this mural depicting a mayan warrior playing Pok-ta-Pok (Mayan for the sacred ball game), is that this is not a 3 dimensional painting. The artist made the warrior out of concrete and and it truly is 3 dimensional. If you look to the left of the pictures you will notice that they enhanced the image by adding the ring which juts out from the wall as well.

maya2.jpg

My curiosity was peaked and decided to walk around the right side of the wall...

maya3.jpg

maya4.jpg

This would be the longest part of the wall and this was a fountain, built into the wall. Unfortunately it was not on but it looked very nice as it was once just a simple wall. In the following pictures you will notice the details.

maya5.jpg

maya6.jpg

This is simply just a wonderful piece of art that continues....

maya7.jpg

maya8.jpg

maya9.jpg

Even the vehicle access metal door was painted on.

maya10.jpg

maya11.jpg

The artist even made a leopard or jaguar half leaping over the wall. I do not know what it is made of but I'm fairly certain it is not paper-maché.

maya12.jpg

This is where I stopped taking pictures because the last bit of wall is unfinished. It was a nice find and it was the only highlight of my day. (All photos are my personal property).

Don't forget to upvote and feel free to resteem.

follow mithrilweed.png

Sort:  

Very cool paintings and wall art!

Very impressive mural and art. There are some truly creative folks in this world and they sure did an excellent job there.

Very interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77