Water droplets (my first try)

in #photography5 years ago

So this is my first time doing something like this, trying to capture water droplets and freeze their motion. I recently bought external flash for photographing celebrations and to do my work at home. Only thing that I don't have now is flash trigger so I can use it off camera. I bought Yongnuo YN685 which doesn't have optical slave, that means I can't use my built in flash from camera to trigger this flash. I already ordered trigger from Ebay and it will need about 30 to 60 days to come to me. So I'm stuck with on camera flash for now but I will do my best to make these photos look good.

What I did was putting my flash to manual mode so I can change flash duration and strength. I used 1/16 power of flash, this is good enough for freezing action because of fast flash duration. I just filled up glass with water, took syringe and started making water drops that will fall into glass. And I also used my remote trigger because without it I would probably move my camera that is on tripod.

IMG_0637.jpg

CameraLensShutter speedF-stopISO
Canon 600DSigma 17-50mm1/200 sec.f/8200

I recorded little slow motion with my phone so you can see how it looks like. Only thing that you need for making slow motion is a lot of light, I'm happy to say that I have some house light that is pretty bright. Some LED light that has 25W power, it's pretty bright and have some diffuser in it.

My Video6.gif

This was my first photo that I took, just tried doing it and it ended up really amazing. Only thing that I will change when I get flash trigger is going to be flash position, I will probably put my flash behind glass to create silhouette of water droplets and I will need more space to put everything together but for now this will be my setup.

IMG_0605.jpg

I'm really happy with results even tho I never done something like this. I hope you liked it too, leave a comment what do you thing about it. :)

Sort:  

Hi @miroslavrc! Your post has been upvoted by @celfmagazine, consider supporting us to win a 20.000 STEEM POWER delegation. You only have to follow these instructions:

Follow this link: https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/ log in with your Steemit account and password, and vote for @celfmagazine

Your support is very important.

It's beautiful 👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78