A Hike Up a Mountain

in #photography7 years ago

This past year for Christmas we went to central California to visit my wife's family and see more of what we don't have in Indiana (ocean and mountains). The following are pictures of my first few adventures:


View of the mountains from her hometown, Exeter CA. They farm a lot of produce there as you can see in the pic above. That day we took a trip to Three Rivers for some pizza and a little mountain hike, pictured below:






The next day I went alone back to the same spot to climb to the top of the mountain I saw. To gauge my elevation I would take a picture of of a camping circle down below which was an easy reference point. It was a little higher from where I started the hike.


Free range cows running away from me as I drove to my start point


A view from the bottom of where I was heading.


My first turn around to see the camping circle. It's at the end of the clearing to the right


again, higher up


The peak is much closer now


These are the bushes I was climbing though and under. It started out much easier and wide but eventually just became a small game trail I followed up the ridge.



|


Above is a few more pics of the trail and another distance check.


|


|
above is evidence of bobcat prevalent in the area.



|



My lunch spot and final stop as it was getting late and I had not brought any over night gear and Everyone was expecting me back by 4. It got dark at 530 so I decided not to risk it. I was probably about an hour and a half from the peak but the view from here was breathtaking. Maybe next time I'm out there I will attempt it again.


As always I hope you liked my pictures, thank you for viewing. If you enjoy my content please upvote and follow. I post and blog about all of our adventures and homesteading life. Until next time...

Sort:  

Looks like an incredible hike!

It was incredibly..exhausting, But so worth it for to sit at almost the top on a flat rock with that view and the sun on my face.

WOW! I have beautiful mountains here in Domincan Republic like that.

Thank you for commenting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59