My journey to the other side of the globe!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

My university has this thing where all students who are studying in a teacher trainer program need to go to another country in their second year, which I was in last year.
There's a bunch of different countries and places you can go, from close to home (which is in the Netherlands by the way), which would be Germany and England, to further away, such as China, South Africa and The United States.

I'm not someone who really likes vacations or going to far places. I've been to a couple of other countries (again, I'm from Europe, so it's not that difficult), I've flown before, but I never really went somewhere I really wanted to go back.

That is, until I went to Canada with school.
3a5b38924742a019-photo.jpeg

The Netherlands, for those of you who are unfamiliar with our tiny country, is flat. We have, and I'm not joking, two proper 'hills' in the entire country (which by the way has a size of 41.543 km²- if we were a US state we'd be one of the smallest ones...).

I've seen mountains, passing through or flying over Switzerland (reminder to myself to wave to @felander next time I do that), but I've never really seen any up close.

And next thing I know I'm in an airbnb looking right at the Rocky Mountains. Or we're driving around, and there's mountains all around is. We visited a lake surrounded by mountains:
8f80d68a236390d1-photo.jpeg
In fact, we visited several of those;
4f7b990085856bde-photo.jpeg
3397bad183dde661-photo.jpeg

We visited THE Niagra Falls2d4b2549e7907c3d-photo.jpeg

And we visited so many amazing schools and outdoor education programs, one of which was on Toronto Island where it at the time really felt like spring as opposed to all the snow down in Calgary
79c5ec1c166e4549-photo.jpeg

So why am I telling you all of this now?
Because I had the oppertunity to go again this year.
In fact, I'm leaving for Canada May 4th.
I'm hoping to write more posts when I'm there, and post a lot of awesome pictures (by the way, let me know what you thought of these! I'm still awestruck looking at those mountains!).

So lets make some more memories, eh?

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sean from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Let me know next time... when you are actually passing by, we can get a coffee or something... have fun in canada.
Liked your intro post btw

Groeten uit Zwitserland en uit crypto valley

Being up in the mountains, what a treat @minersean a second trip over you now have a good idea on what you would like to explore. Enjoy your trip.

Congratulations @minersean! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Upvoted by @a_andre from kryptonia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31