What Is The Most Real Terrifying Photographic Image You've Ever Seen?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Two engineers trapped on a wind turbine - Memento Mori


Last year I applied to study Photography and Video BA (Hons) at De Montfort University in Leicester, England, and during my application I stumbled across this photo of these two engineers trapped on top of a wind turbine.

As the fire raged on, they hugged each other for one last time as one jumped to his death and the other burnt to death. The image never left my mind. Once you see it you can't forget it. This is truly the sign of a terrifying image - one that stuns the senses that you can't forget afterwards.

So what is the most real terrifying photographic image you've ever seen? No Photoshopping allowed!

@mindhunter



Source

Sort:  

It does have that Kevin Carter element to it alright. It was the first person I thought of!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kevin_Carter

P.S. Both engineers were in their early 20s. Such a waste!

A memento mori indeed. Live for the day @homeartpictures and Steem on!

Being a photographer I've seen many of these 'sticky' memento mori images. Live for the day @hammaraxx :)

I find many of the Victorian era memento mori photos to be quite touching actually. There is love in them.
You are spot on though, "Live for the day", we don't know what may be around the corner at any given time.

Watch for wind turbines around the corner @hammaraxx ;) I remember the first time I saw one after seeing this pic .... "Mmmmm ... not so peaceful are we!"

Thank you @mindhunter, I will.
The over 300,000 birds that wind turbines kill every year need to read this post.

Ain't karma a bitch comes to mind! ;) Steem on!

I watch the LASCO satellite images for comets. One day, I saw a few images of the most mind numbingly terrifying thing I have ever seen. I saw a star, a whole star, moving out of phase with the background stars. It had to have been moving over a million kilometers per hour relative to everything else in view. If we ever got hit by something like that, we would disappear in an instant, planet and all, and the star wouldn't even flinch. There is a ghastly awesomeness to it, like standing in the total perspective vortex. I don't have the original images, but they were a series that looked much like this,


3c1703fe8d.site.internapcdn.net/newman/gfx/news/2015/2-sohocelebrat.jpg

Nature in tooth and claw at a monumental level @lifeworship Stunning science indeed! Thanks.

A picture like this one

but showing the normal winds - aka most of the radiation coming town in the Tokyo area.
Which would have meant that theoretically you would have to evacuate the 35 million people living there and shutting down the government.
Needless to say thats impossible. Cleaning up too.

btw interesting anime on that topic: Coppelion.

Hi @lennstar - this is pretty terrifying image in its own scientific way ... me being a scientist of course!!

Wow, that's a terrifying one. Reminds me of the people jumping from the collapsing World Trade Center... :-(

The strangest 9/11 one is the one of the woman looking OUT of the building!

It's very creepy that humans seem to be attracted in a strange way to those kinds of photos. I wonder what the psychology behind all this is.

I think it's the ego in us all that is drawn to them - it's certainly not our pure spirits :)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.48 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 10 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I wonder what's up with the food bloggers these days, everything seems great to them :D

Ha ha! A great tag to visit to calm the nerves :) #food

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.95
ETH 3733.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69