An Amazingly Rare White Rainbow Shot Over Rannoch Moor, Scotland At The Weekend.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

An amazing shot of a rare white fog rainbow taken over the weekend in Rannoch Moor, Scotland by the renowned photographer Melvin Nicholson.

These rainbows are so rare as they are colourless, and are made up to small water droplets that cause this arc of fog.

They can only be spotted when the sun is behind you, and I've only ever seen one myself in the Torridon ranges many years ago whilst out hiking with my University climbing team.

Nicholson's shot is compositionally completed by the isolated windswept tree which makes a nice finish.

@mindhunter

Sort:  

Wow! This is awesome! I saw something like that circling the sun recently...but I've never seen it in a bow.

I'd love to see this one from a plane - a pure angelic white CIRCLE!

Such a rare sight indeed. So lucky he had the right camera technology with him at the time!

That is so Angelic ! 😇 Its the most awesome thing i have seen!
Is it actually real!? Thanks for shareing! 😉

Yes! They are real. I have only seen one and it took my breath away. I still remember the day I saw it (always!)

Thats very cool ! You are very lucky! And you have an angel looking over your shoulder! 😇

The @mindhunter with the angel at his side :)

Beautiful. Upvoted followed and resteemed.

A photo definitely worthy of a resteem! Thank you @nikflossus

Stunning !!! I love that white rainbow

It's very heavenly and angelic :)

You have a way with warming the hearts. What a beautiful photo. :)

Mindhunter suits you so well, it shows so much in your profile. :)
I clicked on the profile and it doesn't exist! May I can be the @hearthunter!!

I was joking with ya! Your free to be the @hearthunter if you so wish??

Haha! Are we allowed to change our name? That feature has to come soon!

Be cool if we could do that just like on Twitter :)

wow this is amazing. I saw some spectacular rainbows when i was living in Aberdeenshire, but nothing like this.

Mostly they are only seen on the West coast of Scotland - both the one I've seen and the one in the pic too!

Very nice, I saw one before but not as distinct!!

Us West coast Scots eh! They are only rarely seen on the West coast.

You mean there are advantages to this west coast malarkey!! ;0)

Must be about the only one eh! ... and you've got to get Baltico to see it too! Ha ha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32