CHRONICLES OF AN UNFORGETTABLE TRIP! (# 3) ''I think we got lost ...''

in #photography6 years ago

Let's go to London, they said. Let's buy this tourist package, they said. They will have to return alone to the hotel, they told us. I think we got lost, my dad told me. Oh really?! I answered him.

Yes, well, I think that is a short summary of what really happened. But here goes the detailed version.


LONDON.

''I think we got lost...''

01.JPG

Well, after they told us we would have to go back to the hotel alone, we arrived at our last stop. They left us right in front of the Parliament of the United Kingdom ... just like that, we were tourists in an English-speaking country, which we had never visited and had only ever seen on television. From there, my dad and I were on our own.



I remember very well that we got off the bus and these were the first views we had, so I did not hesitate to take several photos and having the opportunity to get closer, we got as close as we could.

From there, we didn't know what to do or how to return to the hotel, but we didn't plan to return at that moment either. So when we started to see the London Eye in the distance, we didn't hesitate to go there.

For this we had to cross the Westminster Bridge, which wasn't very far and just at the end of the bridge was the great London Eye. From which I will share my experience later...

Londres 213.JPG

It was already midday and my dad and I were hungry, so we just searched my phone for a place to have lunch, and we let ourselves be guided by GPS. And I tell you that I personally didn't like the food of that place. Hahaha.

(Fun fact: I found out later from a friend who lives there that it is very rare for the British to eat at lunchtime, they just take a snack.)

Later we managed to find Buckingham Palace, the official home of the British monarch Isabell II of the United Kingdom, and to our great surprise, we found that the changing of the guard ceremony was taking place at that moment.

Londres 308.JPG

This ceremony celebrates the relief of the Royal Guard responsible for the security of Buckingham Palace in central London. It is a spectacular parade that takes place in the mornings and has become a very famous and important "tourist attraction" in London.

Just in front of Buckingham Palace is the Victoria Memorial a monument dedicated to Queen Victoria after her death.

Londres 310.JPG

After strolling for a while, passing by a park where the squirrels take the food from your hand, we decided it was time to go back to the hotel, because we were already tired and it seemed a good idea to rest a bit, to go back out at night and have something to eat.

Then we put the address of our hotel on the GPS but in less than ten minutes my phone literally died. And then we were not even halfway there.

Asking for directions did not help, since most people told us to take the subway, but my dad refused because he thought we would end up in another place in London farther than we already were.

And as if it were a gift, it appeared. A map (which I still have) lying on the ground, a bit old-fashioned but when technology betrays you there is nothing left but to use the old methods.

But they are not so useful when you do not know how to use them ...

After walking for at least half an hour, I trust that my dad knew what he was doing, we ended up again in front of Buckingham Palace, almost from where we had left. 'I think we got lost ...'' he told me. ''Don't tell me pa'' I replied.

Although of not having lost I couldn't have taken these great photos, and know a little more about this beautiful city that I love so much, at the end, my camera also ran out of battery and I couldn't take more photos. We decided to enter a nearby store, where we had an ice cream and luckily we could put my phone to charge, to be able to use the GPS and be able to return quietly to the hotel, this time without getting lost. We arrived a little late and so tired that we just fell asleep.

And this was only the first day of many! soon I will be posting more anecdotes like this! Thank you very much for your time and have a nice day!

Thanks for reading me. xoxo.

See you soon!

Milanun

Sort:  

Great post! 🖤

Thanks! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by milanun from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64116.01
ETH 2758.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65