The Color Run - The Happiest 5k On The Planet.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

The Color Run - The Happiest 5k On The Planet.

tb_color_run

I know I looked like a crazy person today while driving home from Gillette Stadium in Foxborough Massachusetts. I had glitter all over my face while playing a Taylor Swift song in my car. I couldn’t help it as it was the song of the day.

It seems like every event I shoot has a song associated with it. In Leysi and Alex’s wedding it was Alicia Keys “Empire State of Mind”. And in today’s case it was “Shake It Off”.

Before the race started they had a dj playing music to get everyone pumped up. Once "Shake It Off" was played - the place went nuts! Imagine a sea of countless screaming teenagers all singing every single word of “Shake It Off” while green, purple, yellow and pink powder is flying everywhere.

I was commissioned by Flo Foto to shoot Shine Tour’s Color Run. It’s touted as “The Happiest 5k on the Planet” that only has 2 rules: 1. Wear white at the starting line and 2. Finish plastered in color!

Check out this before and after shot:
1_color_run_before_and_after_foxborough_ma

Throughout my 10+ years as a photographer, I’ve shot pretty much everything - with the exception being a 5k race. Part of the directions I was given was to “be sure not to miss anyone”. Meaning take a picture of everyone - which was easy when it was a slow trickle. But once the floodgates opened it was near impossible. I asked an official how many people were expected to run today and they said 12,000!

3_professional_sports_event_phtographer_boston_ma_color_run_pictures

4_professional_sports_event_phtographer_boston_ma_color_run_pictures

And to the photographers reading this and considering shooting a themed 5k race - be sure to bring a rain sleeve for your dslr, ziplock bags for your cellphone (and any other things you want to keep dry).

You may be wondering - would I do it again. To answer your question - hell no! Although it was fun shooting happy people, it wasn’t fun cleaning my gear afterwards.

5_color_runb_boston_ma_foxborough_stage


STEEMIT_PLUG

👉🏻 All images are lovingly (sometimes painstakingly) taken by me.

👉🏻 Follow for more awesome images like this sent to your feed daily. HUGS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62449.67
ETH 2429.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58