Mikes Photography Rundown #1

in #photography6 years ago

Hey everyone, so I was thinking I should do two different series one being art and the other photography. Maybe give advice to anyone who needs it. If any of you could comment down below any ideas on what you would want to see more of that would be awesome. For today I just feel like talking about photography.

One of the best things about photography are the stories. Every time I look at a picture I took, I remember the story behind it. Not only that but how I was feeling during that certain time. Looking at my photos gives me a chance to reminisce on past feelings and decisions. It helps me have a grounding on how much progress I've made in the past and what I can do to improve. I don’t just mean improvement of photography, i'm talking about life.

m_mahoney_1-0458.jpg

I took this shot in Atikokan, Canada. I was with a group of friends canoeing over 100 miles in the lakes of Ontario. Since we were constantly surrounded by lakes for two weeks there was no such thing as keeping your feet dry haha. Our feet were constantly wet during this trip and some of us had holes in the sides of our boots so water could get out. Whenever we had to cross land to get to the next lake we had to grab all the gear and canoes through portages. Some portages were super muddy and you would sink like three or four feet into the ground. Also the whether there was so unpredictable. It would be sunny and blue skies then within ten minutes it would be pouring rain with thunder.

m_mahoney_1-9537.jpg

So this is a shot from the same trip. Every day we would camp at a different island. This island was definitely the coolest. Thick moss covered pretty much the entire island. Walking through terrain that looked so perfect we were wondering if anyone has ever set foot there. It’s weird, this photo isn’t as significant as some of my other ones but I've always liked this photo so much. The way the light hits the subject matter and how I was able to edit it so it had that very gentle washed out look to it. It just all worked.

So that all for now, I hope you enjoy my work. I'll be posting more soon and if you guys have any suggestions, questions, or want advice please feel free to put them in the comments below.

Sort:  

@mikemahoney awesome combo of color and scene balance for your shoes photo! It's cool to see the focus is the shoe which is brown color blending in nicely with the green-brown background. Great eye on this one! Anyways supporting you, upvoted your post~ Cheers

Thank you so much. I'm glad your observant with my work. Thanks for supporting, I'm doing the same

@mikemahoney sounds good! Always like to learn from others when it comes to photo styles! I hope I can improve on mine...taking photos recently and posting on Steemit to develop my own photography style :) Thanks for supporting me, looking forward to your comments!

Great shot! COuld be a TImberland comercial :)

It’ not just a pic that I am looking at. I can feel the thoughts and emotions you have put into it.

haha thank you, that means a lot. I try to always have a story behind everything I make

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80