Fire-lit Portraits - A night by the bonfire at Porcfest XV

in #photography6 years ago

This was the first year I had my Sony A7s II camera at Porcfest, and I was shooting with the Mitakon f/0.95 lens to boot. That meant I could take photos in extremely low light. The fire seemed like the perfect setting, and I think I got a couple cool shots!

I feel like the lighting from fire mostly emphasizes masculine qualities because there are usually hard shadows. Maybe you can get a more feminine-flattering light if your subject looks directly at the fire while you hop around in front of them taking photos while trying to not get too hot.

This first shot shows you the fire we're working with. They are actually burning the porcupine effigy at the moment I took this shot, so the fire wasn't always this big!

DSC04869.jpg

DSC04634.jpg

DSC04142.jpg


Click here to go to my profile page, then click alt-text in the upper right corner if you would like to see my work regularly!

You can get in touch with me at my website mikemacintire.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81