You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Essential Guide to Portraits: How to Take a Fantastic Portrait For Beginners

in #photography7 years ago

Amazing and very usefull article. From my experience I can say that the camera is not very important for take amazing portraits, the most important is the lens.
For portraits I ussually use Nikkor 35 mm F/1.8, 18-140mm F/4.5-5.6 on focal length > 50 mm for get nice bokeh

You are doing really nice job keep going!

Sort:  

Classic portrait lenses, ”kings of bokeh” would be Canon’s and Nikon’s 85mm f1.4, and now we have Fuji 56mm f1.2 as a brilliant and relatively affordable solution. Canon’s 135mm f2 L is fantastic but very expensive, and I had very good results with their 100mm f2.8 macro lens, which can serve very well as a portrait lens.

On a wider scale it is not easy to find a pair for that wonderful Leica’s Summicron 35mm f2. Nikkor is very good but big and heavy. Sometimes it’s simpler and easier to buy a whole Fujifilm X100f and use it for an ambient portraits.

Those are some great lenses. I wish I had the money to buy some to improve my shots :) The Nikkor is nothing compared to my medium format film gear so I feel light when carrying around the digital.

I have a "King of Bokeh" Lens but it's kinda old and needs an adapter and to be honest I haven't spent that much time with it. The Pentacon "bokeh monster" 135 2.8 with its 15 aperture blades has some great results online and I should make more of an effort with it. But it's heavy and metal and it's winter here right now haha

Thanks for the feedback ;) Yeah I have to agree that the camera doesn't make the difference any more than a writer suddenly becoming better by using a computer - it's the photographer that makes the difference. Those are some wonderful lenses; I want to get a fast 35mm maybe in the future :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64151.19
ETH 2773.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65