On the way to airport this happened right in front of my eyes

In 2000 I was driving my friend to the airport (The Bob Hope airport in Burbank, CA) and I was kind of speeding caught up in an unnecessary sense of urgency. It's the airport jitters I guess. As I drove down the highway I thought to myself "you know, there's plenty of time, why am I rushing?" So I slowed down and cruised in the slow lane while chatting with my friend. We exited the freeway and approached the edge of the airport runway that runs along Hollywood Way. The sun was setting; we were relaxed.

Then all of a sudden the nose of a commuter airplane crashed through the barrier at the end of the runway and out into the street RIGHT IN FRONT OF US! It was only about 200 yards away. There were sparks and smoke from the front landing gear as it collapsed and skidded to a halt on the asphalt. The nose of the plane came within INCHES of a gas station. We both watched with our mouths agape in disbelief as this surreal event took place. I quickly pulled over and we just sat there for a second trying to process this bizarre thing we just witnessed. Then my friend gallantly got out of the car to run and help. I called after her "bring your camera!!" which she did and dashed over to the plane. These are her photos. The fire department came quickly and had everything under control. As far as I'm aware there were no fatalities.

Lesson learned? Think - relax and slow down. If I had continued at the speed I was driving at we surely would have been run over. As for photography goes, well, it's not Life magazine quality but to have the presence of mind to grab the camera capturing this first hand experience gives it credibility and realness.

Southwest Crash 2000

Southwest Crash 2000

Southwest Crash 2000

Southwest Crash 2000

Sort:  

Goes to show you never know what's around the corner so to speak.

Indeed. That lesson stuck with me. I always check myself before taking action. I believe Icecube said it more eloquently "check yourself before you wreck yourself". ;-)

Death and life have their determined appointments; riches and honours depend upon heaven.

What do you call a nosy pepper? -JALAPENO BUSINESS!

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 6.2 and reading ease of 73%. This puts the writing level on par with Stephen King and Dan Brown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68