SUNSET - original photograph and poem

in #photography8 years ago

Sunset in Hernando County, FL by Meredith Loughran

Here is a photograph I took a couple of weeks ago at sunset. I have always been fascinated by the plethora of colors in the sky - and none quite so beautiful as when the world is pink, orange and purple.

I also have a fascination with trees, often stopping on the roadside when I spy a majestic tree alone in a field.

Obviously this picture has a few trees in it, but what captivated me most was the cloud shapes. It's as if the sky decided it needed a filigree border to wish us a good night.


Sunset

I turn my head up toward the sky
I see a vast array of wonderous colors
Daylight wanes from endless blues to gold, purple, and yellow
As the sun travels its lonely path from one horizon to another.

The clouds gather and part metamorphosing into abstract or familiar shapes.
Ah, the memories of laying on the soft, springy grass to look at them.
'There's a bunny!'
'There's a heart!'

In my youth, I imagined the sun's rays as staircases for angels
Fulfilling an age-old cycle,
Gracing Earth with new life...
And carrying souls out into the greater universe.

I think of sunsets as milestones in my life.
How many more will I see
Before the angels carry my soul
On the beams of a fading sunset?


Wall of #Steemit love:

This awesome name in peppers was created by @papa-pepper: @papa-pepper made my name in peppers! Meredith Loughran @merej99

Bibi Rillmann @poeticsnake art, doodle, @merej99 Meredith Loughran And @poeticsnake graced me with her beautiful artwork!


If you like my content, please consider upvoting and visiting my other articles. Your comments are always appreciated.


Meredith Loughran sharing knowledge bombs, humor and life stories on Steemit

Meredith Loughran blogs at ScribblingBandits.com | Follow her on Twitter & SnapChat or LinkedIn


Come see what I've been writing! Visit my blog page

Sort:  

I always admire your ability to balance a pencil on your upper lip.

It's all in the pucker, baby! lol

Incredible photo!

Hey!, How'd you get the cloud to stay right behind the tree!?, lol :D

So easy! I bribed it with cotton candy. haha ;)

lovely all around

A very nice poem. I have similar childhood memories. Thanks for bringing them back to me. Good times.

There are days when that's all I want to do....and then I remember that I don't like ants in my hair. :P

Keep Em Coming
@merej99

Cool picture and poem!

I really enjoyed this photo and poem combo... well done!

Beautiful picture, the sky can make some gorgeous shapes and colours especially early in the morning

Im in love with those lines:

In my youth, I imagined the sun's rays as staircases for angels
Fulfilling an age-old cycle,

I always found it hard to write about the simple things, good job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63